Over the past twenty years I have gathered information about place names in South East Queensland and I set out here the results of my research. The area extends from Gin Gin and Eidsvold in the North and out to the west as far as Saint George, Surat, Miles and Taroom.
They are presented alphabetically. Click on any of the letters below to see the list of names starting with that letter:[su_tabs] [/su_tab] [su_tab title=”A“] [su_accordion] [su_spoiler title=”Abbeywood” style=”fancy”] When the settlers who came out from England on the Oswestry Grange as the Proston Progress Association sought a school for their area the School Inspector Clement L. Fox was sent to investigate and he recommended two half-time provisional schools one at Speedwell and the other he named Abbeywood after the London suburb from which he came. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Abbotsford” style=”fancy”] Sir Walter Scott’s home near Melrose in Scotland was called Abbotsford and the name was used first for a land holding and then for a parish and for a road in the North Brisbane area to honour that distinguished early 19th century poet and novelist. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Acacia Ridge” style=”fancy”] Apart from the eucalyptus or gum tree there is no tree more closely identified with Australia than the wattle or acacia and this tree grew well in that area which before the end of the 19th century gained the name Acacia Ridge. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Acland” style=”fancy”]Queensland Railways gave its station the name of Acland it being the family name of the Queensland Commissioner for Railways (1911-18) Chas Evans CMG.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Advancetown” style=”fancy”]Advancetown was moved to its present location from the valley below to make room for the Hinze Dam but as Advance Town it started back in the 1880s as a staging camp for bullockies. The hotel there was at first called Beechmont Hotel but its name was later changed to the Advancetown Hotel.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Albany Creek” style=”fancy”]The name Albany Creek arose out of anti-Chinese racism among the settlers in 1885. Up until that time it had been marked on maps as Chinaman Creek a small tributary of the South Pine River. There were many Chinese working on the goldfields around Australia and the antagonism felt toward them by white people prompted some to write to the Minister of Lands requesting a name change and recommending the substitute name of Albany after the Duke of Albany. Albany is the Anglicised form of Albania the name given to the ancient Kingdom of the Picts taken over by the Kings of the Scots.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Albert” style=”fancy”]The Albert River and with it Alberton and for a time the Albert Shire which depended on the river for their names bring to mind the person of Prince Albert son of the German Duke of Saxe-Coburg who married Queen Victoria of England 10 February 1840. The match-making was the work of her uncle Leopold of Belgium but she fell madly in love with Albert and was devoted to him for all of their 21 years of marriage. Although he was her cousin he was very different from her in temperament and outlook. While she was passionate and emotional he was calm and logical. He had high ideals for marriage and family life setting what he hoped would be a good example for her subjects. Protocol did not allow him to propose she had to do that. But while he took second place in all matters of state he was the head of the household as far as she was concerned and her advisor and confidant. He acted as her fulltime secretary. In 1857 he was given the official title of Prince Consort. He made much of the policy she signed it. With a strong sense of duty he worked hard to support her in her role but started to suffer rheumatism insomnia and stomach upsets. His death caused by typhoid fever in 1861 at the age of 42 was a devastating blow to her.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Alberton” style=”fancy”] The town reserve surveyed in 1865 was like the river named after Queen Victoria’s Prince Consort Albert[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Albion” style=”fancy”]Albion is indirectly named after Britain. As used by the ancient inhabitants of Britain it meant the world. It is more directly named after The Albion Hotel built by Thomas Hayseldon in the middle of the 19th century. As the area around the hotel developed it was first known loosely as The Albion but by the last quarter of the century it was simply referred to as it is today. When the Roma Street quarry of convict times was worked out John Petrie bought land here for a quarry and brickworks but it became quite an exclusive suburb in the 1890s. The solicitor Robert Little built Whytecliffe in 1875 and Andrew Lang Petrie and Margaret Petrie had their home Mooloomburram there near the quarry. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Alderley” style=”fancy”]The suburb of Alderley got its name from a property in the area called Alderley Edge which in turn was named after a village just north of Macclesfield in Cheshire England.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Alexandra Headland” style=”fancy”][su_spoiler title=”Alexandra Headland”]In 1916 Thomas O’Connor subdivided land here and sold allotments at what had been known previously as Potts Point. It had gained that name from John Potts local manager for William Pettigrew’s timber interests during the years 1880-1890. O’Connor adopted the name of Alexandra Headland in recognition of Queen Alexandra the wife of King Edward VII. Alexandra of Denmark ‘ Alix ‘ married Albert Edward ‘Bertie’ of Great Britain 1 December 1844 when he was Prince of Wales. So when he became king on the death of his mother Queen Victoria in 1901 she became Queen Alexandra. After her husband’s death in 1910 she continued to use the title and to be held in popular regard by the people. An attractive woman she remained devoted to her family and charities in spite of her husbands many affairs one of which was with Alice Keppel grandmother of Camilla Parker-Bowles. She died 1925 just before her eighty-first birthday.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Alexandra Hills” style=”fancy”] This area was developed in the 1960s by Aspley Homes Pty Ltd who suggested the name. Princess Alexandra of Kent a cousin of Queen Elizabeth II had visited Queensland as part of its centenary celebrations in 1959 and proved popular with the people so her name was chosen for this development which was made possible by the completion of Finucane Road. On her marriage to the late Sir Angus Ogilvy she became The Honourable Lady Ogilvy.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Algester” style=”fancy”] You might wonder what the Brisbane suburb of Algester has to do with an ancient Roman fort on the English River Alne but there is a link. As far as its use in this part of the world goes the naming of the road came first and then the suburb. In the early 1920s F. S. Brecknell named Algester Road after Alcester Road in Moseley a Birmingham suburb. That’s where he came from. In its origins the name of the town Alcester refers to a Roman fort on the River Alne. The suburb then took its name from the road which by then was being spelt with a g instead of a c.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Allora” style=”fancy”] The name derived from the Aboriginal gnallorah swampy place was probably the name for a nearby lagoon. It started as an outstation of Neil Ross’s Goomburra grazing run near a ford across Dalrymple Creek. The village was surveyed in 1859.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Alloway” style=”fancy”] This railway station was named after the birthplace of Robert Burns the Scottish poet.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Amamoor” style=”fancy”] The town and locality get their name from the creek but there are several suggestions as to the Aboriginal derivation. One is that it meant milky white probably referring to the colour of the water after it flowed over areas of white clay or that it referred to a creek where there was good swimming or simply that it meant running water. Then again it has been suggested that it derives from Umama meaning ‘Big Tree’ a reference to the big blue gum trees that grew on the flat where the Aborigines used to camp before going into the nearby scrub to collect bunya nuts.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Amberley” style=”fancy”] The Aboriginal name for the area was Jebropilly said to mean either flying squirrels or swampy place but the property which the Australian Government bought in 1938 for an airforce base had already been given the name of Amberley by its first owners, James and Martha Collett, who had named their dairying selection after the village in West Sussex that they came from.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Amiens” style=”fancy”] When land on the Granite Belt was opened up for soldier settlement after the First World War at the suggestion of surveyor Geo. D. Grant battlefields where Australian forces had served in Europe were commemorated. Amiens was one of these. The first suggestion for the terminus of the new railway line was Mons St Quentin but the name Mons was already taken. Diggerthorpe met with little enthusiasm. But Amiens won approval and so the city on the Somme River in northern France that has a history going right back to the time of Julius Caesar (54 BC) who established his headquarters in the area during the Gallic War and which means ‘water dweller’ was commemorated or rather the battle that Australian forces fought there was.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Amity Point” style=”fancy”] Flinders simply marked the northern point of what is Stradbroke Island as Sandy Point yet it seems to have been called Cypress Point prior to its being named Amity by John Oxley in 1824. There is some confusion over why it was given this name. The Australian 9 December 1824 reporting on Governor Brisbane’s visit to the infant Moreton Bay convict settlement says that it was on account of the friendly contact between Whites and Aborigines.Â But it seems very likely that it was named after the brig Amity which belonged to the New South Wales colonial administration and which under Captain Penson brought John Oxley and the first settlers to Moreton Bay and which later in the same year brought Governor Brisbane on his inspection tour. By the time the governor visited a tiny settlement already existed there. After John Gray surveyed and buoyed the South Passage between Stradbroke and Moreton Islands in the following year a seaman by the name of John Tosh came to be stationed there in a bark hut as Pilot and Superintendent of Buoys. He died when the pilot boat overturned on the bar 13 January 1830. The tiny settlement was at least up until 1873 referred to as Birchville. Before 1828 when a storehouse was built at Dunwich large ships used to unload their cargo at Amity Point and it was then transported little by little across the bay and up the river to Brisbane Town. Two or three soldiers were stationed there to keep guard over the stores. According to Tom Petrie the Aboriginal name for the area was Pul-an.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Amosfield” style=”fancy”] Amosfield was named after the Amos brothers who had tin mining claims in the area. They also held contracts with the New South Wales railways. It has sometimes been called Amosville. Earlier names were Herding Yard and Fern Gully.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Andrews” style=”fancy”] The Andrews family after whom this Gold Coast suburb was named once held extensive land holdings in the area between Mudgeeraba and Tallebudgera. The name was officially gazetted 30 May 1981 but in 2002 became part of the new Varsity Lakes suburb.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Anglers Paradise” style=”fancy”] Anglers Paradise was the name given by R. G. Oates for his development when the Biggera Creek bridge was opened in 1960 from Lands End Labrador on the Gold Coast. Now known as Biggera Waters.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Annerley” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The name was chosen by the prominent Queensland businessman and politician Frank Digby Denham who was Premier 1911-1913 and was derived from the English village of Annerley in the county of Surrey.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Applethorpe” style=”fancy” class=”.”] This was one of those places that had its German name changed during the First World War. It was previously known as Roessler after the family that established there the first commercial orchard on the north side of Stanthorpe. It literally means apple-village.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Araluen” style=”fancy” class=”.”] It is believed that people who came to these diggings near Gympie brought with them the name of the place where they had been mining in southern New South Wales[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Arana Hills” style=”fancy” class=”.”] It seems that the name of Arana Hills was chosen for the Camden and Patrick estates under the impression that in some Aboriginal languages it meant welcome. The later discovery that it was a word referring to the moon did not take away from it its pleasant sounding ring. The name became official 22 December 1962 although Willmore and Randall had been involved in the subdivision of Patrick family land since the 1920s and 30s.[/su_spoiler
][su_spoiler title=”Aratula” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The property around the present township of Aratula was known as Cachen Gate when it was first divided off from the great Fassifern holding but the railway station was given the name of Aratula meaning not known by the Railway Department when the line was opened and consequently the town acquired that name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Archerfield” style=”fancy” class=”.”] While this area was part of the land taken up by Dr Stephen Simpson Land Commissioner in the early days of free settlement, it was Alexander Archer who gave the place its name. He became involved in 1874 when as Brisbane Land Manager for the Bank of New South Wales he helped Henry Farley acquire the property. Alexander (or Sandy as he was known) was born the tenth child to William and Julia Archer 1828. He married Mary (Minnie) MacKenzie twenty years his junior in 1871. They both lost their lives in the shipwreck of the Quetta in 1890. Some of his brothers were early settlers in Durandur Eidsvold and Gracemere. In the 1880s Michael and Kate Durack owned the property for a while prior to their moving to the Kimberley region of Western Australia. The old homestead was in what is now called Richlands. (I am indebted to Noel Hall Botanic Gardens Researcher for information gathered from official land records. Information about the Archer family can be obtained from the Central Queensland University Library website: http://elvis.cqu.edu.au).[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Aroona” style=”fancy” class=”.”] According to Henzell’s Real Estate the Aboriginal name used for this Caloundra suburb Ascomeant a beautiful place.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ascot” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The racecourse was established around 1863. Whether it was dubbed Ascot in all seriousness after the famous English racecourse or whether it was done rather tongue-in-cheek drawing attention to the contrast between Royal Ascot and the primitive local racetrack is not known but it is certain that it and the surrounding area gained its name from the racecourse near Windsor Castle England. The English Ascot back in the 12th century was Escota meaning eastern cottage. When the branch line was opened in 1882 the station was called Racecourse but in 1897 the railway station the post office and the suburb name were all changed to Ascot.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ashgrove” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The Aboriginal name for the area was Kallindarbin but as frequently happened the Europeans took no notice of that. They gave it a much more English name or perhaps it was Scottish (There is an Ashgrove in Scotland) chosen because when they first saw it they were impressed by the fine Moreton Bay ash trees growing there. The name has been used from at least 1876 when both the school and post office adopted it. The choice of name was probably influenced by the Grove Estate belonging to F. F. Holmes and later to his son Henry. It was subdivided in 1884.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ashmore” style=”fancy” class=”.”] This suburb of Southport was named after the Hicks family property which in turn was named after the place they came from in England. Ashmore Village later gained its name from Ashmore Road.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ashwell” style=”fancy” class=”.”] While Walter and Postuma Loveday called their homestead Beaumont they called their property Ashwell Farm after the town of Ashwell in Herefordshire England and when Loveday together with Henry Stevens gave land for a school the name Ashwell was chosen for the school.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Atkinson’s Lagoon” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Named after E. C. Atkinson.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Aubigny” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Named after a town in Northern France scene of a World War 1 battle.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Auburn” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Named after a district of Ireland.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Auchenflower” style=”fancy” class=”.”]Auchenflower was the Scottish birthplace of Sir Thomas McIlwraith. He gave that name to the grand house Auchenflower House which he boughtÂ from ironmomger John Ward and developed on the outskirts of Brisbane and the suburb gained its name from the house. A later governor said of McIlwraith that he was ‘an able bully with a face like a dugong and a temper like a buffalo.’ Others have called him a big man with big ideas. He was Premier three times between 1879 and 1893 but resigned from parliament 1897 after a scandal broke over the affairs of the Queensland National Bank of which he was a director. He died in London in 1900.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Austinville” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Austinville named after W. Austin Queensland Minister for Labour 1934 when this area near Mudgeeraba was made available for the resettlement of people unemployed because of the Great Depression. It was known as a Banana Settlement scheme.[/su_spoiler]
[/su_tab] [su_tab title=”B“] [su_accordion][su_spoiler title=”Bahrs Scrub” style=”fancy” class=”.”] German migrant Wilhelm Bahr at the age of 23 arrived on the ship Beausite 5 September 1863 andÂ took up land in this area.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Baking Board” style=”fancy” class=”.”] A piece of bark was kept at this location for teamsters to make their damper on while camped on this higher ground west of Chinchilla.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bald Hills” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Two treeless hills amid scrub-covered plain gave rise to the descriptive Bald Hills and this has been its official designation from 1871. Its Aboriginal name was Wyampa. There is a story about these bald hills being used by cattle duffers years before the first permanent settlers moved in which says that it was they who first made use of what has become the name for the district. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ballandean” style=”fancy” class=”.”] According to the Queensland Railways the Ballandean holding on the Granite Belt from which the district derived its name was named after two early pioneers Messer Ball and Dean. However it has more reliably been acknowledged that the name with Scottish associations was given by Robert Mackenzie the first owner of Ballandean Run. It literally means dwelling in the valley. Â Robert Ramsay Mackenzie born 1811 Â arrived in Australia April 1832 and with his brother James took part in the wild land rush of the following decade so that over the years he held leases at varying times covering huge areas of northern New South Wales and Queensland. Until his bankruptcy in 1844 he lived in Sydney and put managers on each of his runs. Later he moved to Brisbane and again used managers to oversee his properties in Queensland while he engaged in politics serving as Queensland first treasurer. Mackenzie’s first manager at Ballandean was Henry Hayter Nicol and some sources credit him with the choice of the name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ballinger Beach” style=”fancy” class=”.”]The land south of Lake Currimundi was first taken up by John Ballinger who grazed sheep there. The beach was named after him in the 1960s.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Balmoral” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The existence of Balmoral House in the area may have influenced the choice of name but the local authority area was given the name of Balmoral on its proclamation by the Executive Council 21 January 1888 in honour of the royal residence in Scotland acquired by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1852. The name in Gaelic means homestead in a big clearing. Balmoral in Scotland has been a country retreat for British monarchs over the years since then. Prince Albert left his mark on the property through his overseeing of the rebuilding program and the establishment of the gardens and because of this Balmoral Castle had a special place in Queen Victoriaâ??s affections during the long years of her widowhood. The name Balmoral was used in the subdivision of this Brisbane property in the latter part of the 19th century when Queen Victoria still ruled. It was confirmed in 1927 when the name was given to the tram terminus.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bannockburn” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Bannockburn a name derived from the stream Bannock Burn was the scene for a famous Scottish battle in 1314 when the Scots under Robert the Bruce routed the English forces under Edward II. Bannockburn south of Windaroo keeps the memory of that event so important to Scottish nationalism alive on the other side of the globe. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Banyo” style=”fancy” class=”.”] According to Europeans this was the Aboriginal name for the area and meant a ridge or small hill. Sir James Dixon Minister for Railways had earlier dubbed the railway junction there Clapham Junction but the name Banyo has been used from about 1887. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bapaume” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Like other soldier settlement areas on the Granite Belt this area was named after a First World War battlefield in France where Australian soldiers fought. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Barakula” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The State Forest near Chinchilla is aptly named as the Aboriginal word meant tall and big timber. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Barambah” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The name refers to the westerly wind[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bardon” style=”fancy” class=”.”]The suburb derives its name from the house Joshua Jeays built for his wife in 1863. This prominent Brisbane architect and builder named it after Bardon Hill in his native Leicestershire. Architecturally the house which still stands now owned by the Catholic Church is in the Early Victorian Gothic Revival style and has been likened in appearance to an English manor house. Sadly his wife died before the house was completed and he refused to live in it. His son took it over. Then later his daughter married to Sir Charles Lilley formerly Premier of the Colony of Queensland and recently made Chief Justice lived there. It was later occupied by another Queensland Premier Sir Thomas McIlwraith. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Baroona” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Baroona Road remains to remind us of an area once known as Baroona after the house of that name a house which at one time belonged to Robert Philp who with James Burns formed the Burns Philp Company and was a member of parliament and for a short period Premier. The name is of Aboriginal derivation and means a place far away.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Baroon Pocket” style=”fancy” class=”.”]Since 1988 the location of Baroon Pocket Dam the valley where Bridge and Obi Obi Creeks joined was significant in the culture of the Aboriginal people.Â Its name is of Aboriginal origin but its derivation is not certain. Watson says it is derived from barung the Kabi word for rat kangaroo but others suggest that it may have originated from barun the Kabi word for the minnow fish hence barun-ba a place where fish could be obtained Â Steele suggests that it came from buru cabbage tree palm and Tom Petrie said that during his 1845 visit to the bunya gathering he enjoyed eating the young tops of the cabbage tree palm. Meston regarded Booroon as the Mary Valley name for an Aboriginal ceremony. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Battery Hill” style=”fancy” class=”.”] This area near Caloundra gained its name from the fortifications built there in the 1880s when there was some fear of a Russian incursion.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bauple” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The Aboriginal name referred to the mountain supposedly the dwelling place of a lizard-like demon. The name refers to the frilled lizard. It has also been spelt Bopple Boppil Bahpil Boopal and Baphal.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Beachmere” style=”fancy” class=”.”] It is said that a Mr Bonney who settled in the area around 1870 called it Beachmere because of the strip of sandy beach set amidst a marshy countryside. William Goodwin Geddes was the first person to hold freehold title for the area between King John Creek and the beach. About 1887 Millman moved from Oaklands to start dairying there and in the Millmansâ?? time it started to be used by picnicking parties. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Beauaraba” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Beauaraba on the Darling Downs means place of dry bushes.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Beaudesert” style=”fancy” class=”.”] . The name Beaudesert comes from Beau Desert the name Edward Hawkins gave to his grazing run in 1842Â when he moved up from Beau Desert Henry Bayley’s station near Mudgee in NSW. Bayley had in turn given the name to his property in commemoration of Beau Desert Park Staffordshire England which had been in his family’s hands for hundreds of years. It is believed that Beau Desert Park gained its name from a Cistercian monastery nearby Beau Desir meaning beautiful wish. Beau Desert Station was leased by Joseph Phelps Robinson and later by William Duckett White who made it the headquarters for his extensive grazing interests along the south coast of Queensland.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Beachmont” style=”fancy” class=”.”]The early timbergetters seem to have given it this name after the beech trees growing there in abundance. This was probably Pennantia cunninghamii or brown beech although what is known as white beech Gmelina leichardtii was also in the area.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Beenleigh” style=”fancy” class=”.”]Beenleigh is often associated with rum and that is not surprising because John Davey and Frank Gooding who began to grow sugarcane there about 1865 opening their sugar mill five years later in 1884 started the beginnings of the Beenleigh Rum Distilliary. These men were brothers-in-law and they named their plantation Beenleigh after the name of Davey’s family estate in Devonshire England. The town got its name from the plantation. The area has had other names. As a result of the efforts of J. C. Heussler a number of German settlers moved into the area so that it came to be known as German Pocket. The Aboriginal name for the area was Woabbummarjo meaning boggy clay.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Beerburrum” style=”fancy” class=”.”]Beerburrum was an Aboriginal word (Undambi language) meaning parrot apparently arrived at by imitating the sound made by the parrot’s wings in flight. It is the name of one of the Glasshouse Mountains and the district gained its name from the mountain. This mountain was climbed by Matthew Flinders way back in 1799 when he made an overland expedition away from his sloop the Norfolk left moored in Pumistone Passage. He commented on the extensive view of the bay and the neighbouring country from the summit and described the country they walked through to get there as ‘low swampy and brushy and in the latter part of the way somewhat uneven.’ He described the mountain as ‘a pile of stones of all sizes mostly loose near the surface.’[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bell” style=”fancy”]In 1906, at the instigation of Joshua Thomas Bell, Queensland Minister for Lands and Railway at the time, the railway was extended north of Dalby and a new town surveyed at its terminus. This town was given the name of Bell in recognition, he said, of his father Sir Joshua Peter Bell, for this township was on part of the original Jimbour Station that had been in the Bell family hands since his grandfather acquired it in 1843, and had been developed over the years by his father. Joshua Peter Bell was born in 1827 in Kildare, Ireland, and came out to Australia with his parents in 1830. He was educated in Sydney, but moved to Jimbour when his father Thomas took over the pastoral lease. He married Margaret in Ipswich in 1861. He was a leading figure in Queensland racing circles and in Queensland politics. He served in several Queensland governments, was President of the Legislative Council, and for nine months served as Administrator in 1880. He was knighted in 1881, but died suddenly in that same year.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bella Creek” style=”fancy” class=”.”]According to the local theory this area near Imbil is named after an Aboriginal woman Bella Bella but J. G. Steele suggests that it was derived from the Kabi language word bala meaning catfish.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bellbird Park” style=”fancy” class=”.”]This name was given by the developers of the estate to bring to mind the tinkling bell sound made by the Australian bellbird: Manoria melanophrys.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bellbowrie” style=”fancy” class=”.”] In early years Aboriginal names were borrowed or adapted from the local dialects but of later years developers wanting to give their subdivision an Aboriginal name have had to rely on books of Aboriginal words. This is what J.D.Booker did when he chose this Aboriginal word not of local origin supposed to mean a red flowering tree. It has been a recognized place name since 1972.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Belli Park” style=”fancy” class=”.”] When his favourite horse died in 1867 the surveyor Jardine gave its name to this district by first giving it to the creek. At least that is one explanation of the name. Another is that it comes from belai or billah referring to the she-oak tree (Casuarina Glauca).[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bells Creek” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Bells Creek was named after Mary Alice Bell a governess for William Landsborough’s children. She took up land in this area south of Caloundra.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Belmont” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Belmont House stood on land where the big and bustling Carindale Shopping Centre now stands. It was built and named by by Colonel CarlÂ Berneker (1876) but later became the home of Colonel W. Mackenzie. Belmont in its English and Scottish origins derives from the French and means beautiful mountain. It is a name to be found throughout the British Isles.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Benarkin” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Benarkin (benarquin) is an Aboriginal word for the blackbutt tree (Eucalyptus pilularis) and this name was officially recognized in April 1912 when the township which had grown up at the Well Hole was so named by the Railway Department.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bergin Creek” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Named after John Delaney Bergin who in 1877 took over what was left of the Samford grazing property.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bergins Hill” style=”fancy” class=”.”]The question is which Bergin gave the hill its name. Was it Thomas Bergin bailiff in Ipswich around 1868 or Denis Bergin publican at the Prince Alfred Hotel at Bundamba around the 1880s? Probably the latter[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Biddadabba” style=”fancy” class=”.”]The district gained its name from the creek which was given the Aboriginal name of burubu-da meaning the place of koalas. There have been many different attempts to spell and to pronounce this name but it was so named by the Minister for Natural Resources 24 April 1997.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Biddeston” style=”fancy” class=”.”] John Little named his property after a town in Wiltshire England and the Darling Downs locality gained its name from that property.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Biggera Waters” style=”fancy” class=”.”] The area was named after the creek which derived its name from the Yugambeh language word bigera referring to the red iron eucalypt (eucalyptus sideroploia).[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bilinga” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Bilinga on the Gold Coast was named by the Surveyor General 17 October 1918. The name is Aboriginal and means the place of bats or maybe parrots.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Binna Burra” style=”fancy” class=”.”] A Brisbane businessman William M. E. L’Estrange suggested the Aboriginal name Binna Burra for what had previously become known as Mt Roberts in the McPherson Range. F.E.Roberts was one of the two surveyors who surveyed the border between New South Wales and Queensland after it was decided that the border should run along the top of the range. The Aboriginal people used the term Binna Burra in a general way to refer to the high plateau where white beech trees (Gmelina Leichardtii) grew in abundance.Â[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Birkdale” style=”fancy” class=”.”] In England Birkdale is a contraction of Valley of the Birches. The name was given to the area by William Thorne who built Mooroondu House on Mooroondu Point in the 1880s. He named it after his birthplace in Devon England and sold it shortly before he died in 1915.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Birnam” style=”fancy” class=”.”] There are two localities of this name in South East Queensland. One within the Beaudesert Shire the other in the Crows Nest Shire. The origin of both seems to go back to Charles Fraser the Colonial Botanist. He mentions Birnam Hill in his journal for 31 July 1828 andÂ J. G. Steel points out that Fraser was born at Blair Atholl near Birnam and Dunsinane in Perthshire Scotland. Birnam Hill is now known as Mt Dunsinane. Birnam near Crows Nest was first of all the name given to the railway station. It then became the name for the locality.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bishop Island” style=”fancy” class=”.”] Bishop island was named after Captain A.G.F.Bishop of the Harbours and Marine Department. It is an island formed by the dredging of the Brisbane River bar mouth undertaken between 1909 and 1912 by the dredges Maryborough and Hercules with Capt Bishop of the Hercules in charge. It has also been known as Hercules or Wreck Island.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Blackall Range” style=”fancy”]Sir Samuel Wesley Blackall became Governor of Queensland at the age of 59 after serving some years as governor in West Africa. This kindly and quietly spoken former member of the House of Commons was popular in Queensland where he refused to get embroiled in the local political crises of the time. He died in 1870 after only three years in office. Conscious of his failing health he selected his own grave site when inspecting the proposed land for a cemetery at Toowong and the elaborate memorial built over his grave was the first to be erected in the new cemetery. The range was named a few years after his death 1874 by surveyor C. S. Bradbury while surveying a timber reserve there.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Blackbutt” style=”fancy”]The town of Blackbutt occupies part of what was once Taromeo run. Simon Scott who had come to Australia two years earlier and had overlanded several thousand sheep to Cressbrook in the Brisbane Valley during the previous year selected Taromeo in 1842. After building his slab hut and other buildings he returned to the south to bring his wife and two young children with him in 1847. Because this part of the run was covered by dense scrub it was of no use to the graziers and in 1889 the owners of the time voluntarily surrendered it. The government then threw it open for closer settlement. The area was known simply as the Blackbutt Forest and the name Blackbutt came to be adopted for a township which started to spring up there around the turn of the century. At first the name referred to the settlement now called Benarkin but then it came to be applied to the town which now bears the name. The establishment of a timber industry from 1903 saw it grown rapidly. The name of Blackbutt was officially bestowed on the town of that name in 1909 by Surveyor Munro. Blackbutt is a species of eucalyptus Eucalyptus pilularis which gets its common name from the rough dark-coloured bark which remains well up the trunk.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Blackstone” style=”fancy”]This is one of the oldest suburbs of Ipswich and while the name may have been associated with the coal deposits mined there by Lewis Thomas and his fellow Welshmen it seems that Mrs Orr the postmistress when a change of name from Bundamba Creek was being sought suggested Blackstone after a place in Ireland.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Blanchview” style=”fancy”] It is said that the name was based on that of Ernest Blanchard who owned property in the locality.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bli Bli” style=”fancy”]Believed to be derived from billai billai meaning swamp oak. Casuarina glauca or swamp oak grows well in open forest near saltwater estuaries the sort of country Bli Bli was.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bokarina” style=”fancy”]Kawana Estates the developers of the area gave it this Aboriginal name meaning middle because it was roughly in the middle of their extensive coastal development.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bollier” style=”fancy”]Refers to a vine that the Aboriginal people used to use for climbing trees. It has been used as a place name from at least 1865.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bongaree” style=”fancy”] Much has been said about European expansion in Australia being at the cost of Aboriginals as it undoubtedly was but what is not always recognized is that white exploration would not have progressed as rapidly and successfully as it did without the assistance of Aboriginal people. Many of the explorers took with them a native Australian to assist in establishing contact with tribes they might meet along the way. Way back near the beginning of European settlement Matthew Flinders took with him on his travels an Aboriginal man by the name of Bongaree (or Bong-ree as some called him) from the Broken Bay area near Sydney. So this man was with Flinders and his boatload of sailors when the naval captain landed on the northern shores of what he following James Cook called Glass House Bay. Flinders did not realize that he was stepping ashore on an island – Bribie island. He though it was part of the mainland. Things seemed to be going well in their encounter with the local Aboriginal people 16 July 1799 until Flinders thought his new-found acquaintances were taking too many liberties and he fired buckshot at one of them. Three other shots were fired. The point where this happened he marked on his chart as Point Skirmish. The name is still used of a point on Bribie Island but now it refers to a different part of the island. What he called Point Skirmish is now South Point. Bongaree the man was later given a military uniform by the governor of NSW and a seemingly endless supply of cocked hats. He cut a strange figure ceremoniously welcoming new arrivals in Sydney Town with a flourish of his hat and a deep respectful bow. He wore a crescent-shaped brass plate suspended around his neck proclaiming him to be Bungaree King of the blacks He died November 1830. After the jetty was built in 1912 for the Koopa and Doomba bringing visitors over from Brisbane and Redcliffe a township was surveyed and this township was given the name of Bongaree now a popular seaside resort on the western side of Bribie Island.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bongeen” style=”fancy”] In its Aboriginal use it referred to a box forest. The name was bestowed by the Railway Department on the siding it built there. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bonogin Valley” style=”fancy”]The origins of the name are not clear but appear to derive from the Aboriginal boonow meaning red bloodwood[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Boodua” style=”fancy”]The name of this Darling Downs farming district comes from an Aboriginal language and refers to a hawk.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Boonah” style=”fancy”]The town of Boonah lies on part of what was originally taken up as the Dugandan run in 1844. In the 1880s Adolph Levi and Max Blumberg opened a small store on the rise where the town is now situated. The town was first gazetted under the name of Dugandan but the high part of town was still known locally as Blumbergville. However when the railway came through 1887 the local people suggested a new name for the station. They called it Boonah using the Aboriginal word for the red bloodwood tree (Eucaluptus gummifera) a name the Aborigines used of a location near Munbilla well to the north of the present Boonah. The name Dugandan continues to be used for the area south of the town although severe flooding in 1887 put an end to any idea that it might rival Boonah as a town centre. It did however become the site for two important timber mills. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Boonara” style=”fancy”] Local aboriginal name for the bloodwood tree.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Boonarga” style=”fancy”]This railways station between Dalby and Miles was named after the Aboriginal bunar bloodwood tree[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Boondooma” style=”fancy”]The dam on the Burnett River was completed in 1980 to provide water for the Tarong power station and for irrigation. Its name comes from the Boondooma homestead built by the Lawson brothers in 1846. When restoration work was undertaken on the old homestead during the 1970s it was discovered that the house had been built to metric measurements rather than the commonly used imperial measurements. This was probably because the builder was Flemish and he worked in the system with which he was most familiar.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Booroobin” style=”fancy”] The name for this district near Maleny means place of black possum.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Booroodabin” style=”fancy”]Burudabin meant place of oaks.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Booubyyan” style=”fancy”] This was the name given by the Aboriginal people to a particular granite rock that was close to the site chosen by Clement and Paul Lawless for their grazing enterprise in 1846. It now faces the Burnett Highway. The Lawless brothers came from County Cork Ireland in 1840 and after a time on the Liverpool Plains came on to Nindooinbah Moreton Bay but later moved to the property they named after this geological feature. The property still remains in the hands of the Lawless family to this day. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Booval” style=”fancy”] The suburb took its name from Booval House erected 1854 by George Faircloth bank manager and later occupied by Councillor Harry Ferrett. There are different views on the origin and meaning of the name. One view is that Faircloth named it after a place in England and that its derivation probably went back to the French beau val fine valley. The other view is that it was of Aboriginal origin. If so several interpretations are given to its meaning: frilly lizard initiation rites or place where boys are initiated. In the 1860s there was a Booval Cotton Company.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Boronia Heights” style=”fancy”]Originally known as Logan Ridges this suburb of Logan City was named in 1991 after the name given to a housing development estate there. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Borumba Creek” style=”fancy”] Borumba Creek is the place of the mountain minnow (Galaxis).[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bottle and Glass” style=”fancy”] There are a number of stories told as to how the Bottle and Glass Road got its name. One says that there was a bottle and glass carved into a tree at the top of the steep pinch another that there actually was a bottle and glass left there while another says that Bottle and Glass were two horses used to help the regular five in the Cobb and Co coach team climb the steep stretch of road. The Bottle and Glass Mountain is nearby.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bowen Hills” style=”fancy”] The name of Queensland’s first governor is perpetuated in the area of Brisbane now known as Bowen Hills. His name was also given to a wooden bridge across Breakfast Creek in 1862 consequently to the road which gained its name from the bridge. Sir George Bowen was what you might call a ‘hands-on’ governor. While he got parliamentary institutions set up as soon as he could he had to make autocratic decisions to get the whole thing up and running. Earlier in his life he had gained distinction as a student of the classics and was twice president of the union at Oxford. He was an ardent supporter of the English politician W.E.Gladstone and through him came to be appointed to the new governorship in 1859. It was not the last time he was to serve the British Empire as governor for after his term in Queensland he served as governor successively of New Zealand Victoria Mauritius and Hong Kong. He has been called self-opinionated obstinate and long winded. Some of his dreams like the establishment of a great commercial centre at Somerset on Cape York or the immigration of Indians to work as labourers in Queensland came to nothing. He had running battles with the Roman Catholic Bishop Quinn and with the radical democrat Judge Lutwyche. Sir George was not the only member of the family to have left behind place names as a memento of their sojourn in this part of the world. The names of his wife Roma Diamantina are known in the west of the state today. He was 38 years old when he arrived in the newly created colony and stayed for eight years. One of the early houses to be built at Bowen Hills was Beerwah which John Petrie named after the mountain which he had climbed with his father as a lad.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bowenville” style=”fancy”] A town was surveyed and allotments advertised for sale 6 December 1860 near the Long Waterhole outstation on the Jondaryan station. It was called Bowen in honour of the Governor Sir George Bowen who passed through the area around that time. However the name was changed to Bowenville in 1862 because the name of Bowen was taken by the settlement on Port Denison in North Queensland. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Boyland” style=”fancy”] George Boyland was Chairman of the Tamborine Shire Council at the time of his death. The area gained its name through the naming of the train station after the Boyland family.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bracalba” style=”fancy”]This is supposed to have been the native name for a scrub on the D’Aguilar Range.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bracken Ridge” style=”fancy”] ?15th June, 2014 ?by webteam ?Place Names 2 ?No Comment The Ferguson family called their property Bracken Ridge because the area was covered with a good growth of bracken. This long coarse fern which goes by the scientific name of Pteridium esculentum is poisonous to cattle. When the area was subdivided during the great land boom of the 1880s the developer called the subdivision Bracken Ridge Estate. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bramble Bay” style=”fancy”]Named after HMS Bramble which under Lieutenant C.B.Yule with HMS Rattlesnake under Captain Owen Stanley called in at Moreton Bay in 1847 and became involved in charting the northern section of the bay.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brassall” style=”fancy”]The name of this Ipswich suburb which from 1860 to 1917 was a separate local government area goes back to 6 October 1851 when used by the surveyor James Warner. Meaning not known.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bray Park” style=”fancy”] John Bray was a Shire Councillor in the Pine Rivers Shire from May 1946 to March 1973 and at the time that he retired was the longest serving Shire Chairman in the state. His father Thomas Nathaniel Bray had moved into the district in 1900. After leasing property for a few years he bought his own dairy farm on Gympie Road a farm which John later took over.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Breakfast Creek” style=”fancy”] On Thursday 16 September 1824 John Oxley Alan Cunningham and Lieutenant Butler with nine boatmen and servants travelling in two boats left the brig Amity moored off Redcliffe Point and rowed to the mouth of the Brisbane River. They travelled upstream to the head of what Oxley called Sea Reach and camped the night at a grassy spot on the bank there. Four of the local Aboriginal inhabitants came around as they were setting up camp. The country was in the grip of drought and a reedy swamp nearby linked to the river by a creek had dried up. The only water they found was brackish and undrinkable so they had to open their water cask that evening. They woke next morning to a slight fog and tried again to find fresh water but without success. They ate a hasty breakfast without any water and hurried to pack up. Their idea was to press on to the point where Oxley had discovered in the previous year that the river turned fresh. The inquisitive natives came back and took off with a mountain barometer a case of drawing tablets and some other things. The exploring party only recovered their possessions after the discharge of a firearm by Lieutenant Butler. After this incident they pushed off around 8 am. The creek near which this occurred they referred to as Breakfast Creek. It had been a dry but memorable breakfast.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Breaksea Spit” style=”fancy”] Named by Lieutenant James Cook 1770.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bremer” style=”fancy”]The Bremer River was named by the explorer John Oxley in 1824 after Captain James John Gordon Bremer RN whom he had met in Sydney shortly before coming north on the trip to establish the new settlement at Moreton Bay. Bremer in command of the Tamar was on his way to select a site for a trading settlement somewhere along the northern coast of what is now the Northern Territory. The idea was to set up a trading post which would allow British incursions into the rich East Indies trade. The whole scheme was a fiasco but Bremer believed in it and recommended a site on Melville Island. After Fort Dundas there failed the British tried again at Fort Wellington. Later he was sent out in charge of yet a third attempt this time at Port Victoria. It fared no better. James later Sir James came from a family of naval officers and ended up as a Rear Admiral the year before he died at the age of 64.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brendale” style=”fancy”] Brendale gets its name from a property established by developer William Bowden in the early 1960s and subdivided 1980.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bribie Island” style=”fancy”]There are not many place names which perpetuate the names of convicts but Bribie Island is one of them according to Thomas Welby. Bribie may have been the man’s nickname although some give his name as Brieby. Some have suggested that he got his name from the way he bought privileges from the authorities. It seems he supplied them with fish. He was a basket-maker and fish-trapper and these skills seem to have made him a valued member of both white and Aboriginal societies. He took up with an Aboriginal woman and when his term of sentence was about to expire ran away to live permanently with her and her tribe on the island. Other convicts found sanctuary there as well. When a convict went missing it was common to hear it said around Brisbane Town that he was ‘Down with Bribie.’ This became’ ‘Down at Bribie ‘ and so the island got its name. However Warwick Outram suggests that the name derives from the original Aboriginal name for the island itself Boorabee. Bribie was not the first white person to live with the natives on this island. Thomas Pamphlett and John Finnegan were found there in 1823 by John Oxley when he came looking for a site for a new convict settlement. They were two of a four-man crew who had sailed out of Sydney Heads to get cedar logs from the Illawarra district but were blown way off course by a storm. One died at sea but the three that were left eventually came ashore on Moreton Island. They were befriended by the Aboriginal people. In the following year Oxley found the other member of their crew Richard Parsons also on Bribie Island.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bridgeman Downs” style=”fancy”]Bridgeman Downs was named in 1975 after Henry StJohn Bridgemen who owned a considerable portion of land there but he never lived there. He worked for the Customs Department and held property around Boondall as well as this property between the suburbs of Albany Creek and Aspley which he bought in 1860 and sold to the Catholic Church in 1877 who eventually subdivided it in 1957.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bridges” style=”fancy”]The railway siding near Yandina was named in 1918 after Major-General William T. Bridges commander of the Australian Imperial Forces who died of wounds at Gallipoli 1915. For the previous seven years it had been called Ninderry byÂ Queensland Railways.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brigalow” style=”fancy”] The name was suggested by the variety of acacia known as brigalow growing in the area. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brighton” style=”fancy”] First the naming of the hotel and then the naming of the area. When David Rowntree Somerset opened an hotel in 1866 on land he had acquired eight years earlier he named it after the English seaside resort of Brighton. When Joshua Jeays subdivided the area in 1881 he cashed in on the growing fame of seaside resorts in England by marketing his allotments under the name of Brighton Estate. Early in the 19th century the name of this English town was still sometimes being written Brighthelmston. It was mentioned in the Doomsday Book as Bristlemestune. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brightview” style=”fancy”] In the early years of settlement the area was known as Tarampa Flats but after subdivision for closer settlement the German Lutheran farmers who settled there called it Lobethal meaning valley of praise. There is however a place of the same name in South Australia so it was changed to Brightview probably after E. C. F. Beutel’s property.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brigooda” style=”fancy”]The school for this farming area of the South Burnett opened as Lawson in 1924 but the Postal Department later requested a change to avoid confusion with Lawson in New South Wales.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brisbane” style=”fancy”]Sir Thomas Brisbane was forty-eight years of age when he arrived to take over the governorship of New South Wales from Governor Lauchlan Macquarie in 1821. He had had a distinguished career in the army having commanded units in the Iberian Peninsula in America and in France. He had married at the age of forty-five the daughter of Sir Henry Makdougall of Makerstoun Scotland. After his return to Britain he was to incorporate his wife’s maiden name officially into his own becoming Thomas Makdougall Brisbane. He didn’t mind travelling by sea but he quickly tired of land exploration. The extremely energetic John Dunmore Lang said he lacked energy. While he was himself devout he tried to be tolerant of all religious traditions. He has been called amiable and impartial but weak. However his great passion was astronomy. He built observatories in his native Scotland and in Sydney and was highly regarded as an amateur scientist. He was following Commissioner Bigge’s recommendations when he sent John Oxley to select a site for another penal settlement. This was to be a place to which convicts who had been convicted of a second crime could be sent. At 8 am on Tuesday 2 December 1823 the Surveyor-General having been told by Finnegan and Pamphlet of a large river in the vicinity entered the mouth of the river which was then named after the Governor. In the following year Oxley returned to the area with Lieutenant Henry Miller and a party of 14 soldiers and about 30 convicts to establish a settlement. After setting up a temporary settlement at Redcliffe he explored the Brisbane River further recommending several sites as suitable for the permanent settlement. Later in the year Governor Brisbane came to look for himself and they decided on a spot near Breakfast Creek. When however the move was actually made between March and July 1825 the site chosen was where William Street in the city is now. In his instructions to Lieutenant Miller Sir Thomas showed himself to be an administrator with an eye for detail. He ordered Miller himself to conduct Divine Service for the convicts each Sunday morning. He prohibited overseers from striking or pushing convicts. He believed that solitary confinement on a bread and water diet was more effective than corporal punishment. However the commandant was authorized to sentence an offender to no more that fifty lashes. ‘You will take an early opportunity of establishing a friendly intercourse with the neighbouring blacks but you will not admit them to an imprudent familiarity ‘ he wrote. He justified European occupation of Aboriginal land by arguing that civilization brought with it many comforts to the local inhabitants. Miller complained that he was not given enough convict labour to enable him to do all that was expected of him in establishing the new settlement but the Governor was not pleased with the progress being made and withdrew him from the post after about twelve months. At the same time Thomas Brisbane had his own troubles. He had made enemies among the leading citizens of New South Wales and through their efforts was recalled after four years in the colony. The name first used for the township on the Brisbane River was that suggested by Chief Justice Forbes Edenglassie but in 1834 the name of Brisbane became official. The Aboriginal people who lived on the south side of the river called the area where the Botanical Gardens were established Meeanjin meaning the tulipwood a tree which grew well in the area before white settlement but in the 19th century Brisbane came to be known to all the Moreton Bay Aboriginal people as Maginuchin.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brooloo” style=”fancy”] It seems this word applied to the area earlier called The Bluff paddock of Imbil station referred to the colour white in the Aboriginal language from which it was adapted. The railway station was named Dewarrell (after Duwarri a nearby rocky outcrop) before it was changed to Brooloo.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Brooweena” style=”fancy”]This railway station on the Gayndah line was given an Aboriginal word for a crab.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Browns Plains” style=”fancy”] Like many areas Browns Plains was first logged for timber and then settled by farmers. Being on the Cobb and Co. route from Brisbane to Casino in Northern NSW helped put it on the map.[/su_spoiler][su_spoiler title=”Bruce Highway” style=”fancy”]Henry Adam Bruce had been a bushworker in Central Queensland before he became an organizer for the Australian Workers Union and entered politics as a labor candidate sitting in the Queensland Legislative Assembly from May 1923 to April 1950 when he switched to the Federal Parliament. He was Minister for Works 15 December 1934 when the highway which runs from Coolangatta to Cairns was named.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bryden” style=”fancy”] The Deep Creek receiving office which open in 1878 was renamed Bryden in 1917 to avoid confusion with another Deep Creek in Queensland. The local residents chose this name to commemorate an early settler in the district.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Buaraba” style=”fancy”]Buaraba was a grazing run in the 1840s. It maybe that the name comes from that of an arab horse although J. G. Steele points out that a similar place-name Beauaraba on the Darling Downs means ‘place of dry bushes’ (boarb).[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Buddina” style=”fancy”] Alfred Grant developer gave it the name meaning sunbeam in the 1960s[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Buderim” style=”fancy”]There are perils for those who would learn a foreign language. Budderum was the Kabi Kabi word for the coastal bottlebrush or honeysuckle banksia collina sometimes called honeysuckle which grows on the open sandy country near the sea. It could have happened that a white person enquiring the name of the high country to be seen from the beach was given the name of the coastal bottlebrush instead. The name was written down as Buderim. The coastal bottlebrush did not grow in the rainforests of Buderim Mountain but it was known as Buderim from the time of the first white intrusion into the area by timbergetters. William Guy a member of the survey party sent out to survey the area for closer settlement bought 80 acres and settled there in 1870. William Guy orphaned by the time he was eight ran away to France at the age of 15 joined Giuseppe Garibaldi in his campaign on behalf of the poor peasants of Italy marched with Garibaldi’s forces against Rome and then later migrated with his brother Frank to Australia. He got a job with the Survey Department in Queensland and when an application was made by the Quaker families on the Mooloola River Flats for the right to select higher land on Buderim he was in the survey party.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bulcock Beach” style=”fancy”] Bulcock Beach Caloundra is named after Robert Bulcock who in 1875 bought the land where Caloundra CBD is now situated and became a local resident some years later. He arrived in Queensland from his native Lancashire at the end of 1855 together with his wife Elizabeth and after a couple of years farming became a Brisbane businessman with a seed and produce business. He became a director of the City and Suburban Building Society Â publisher of the Queensland Evangelical Standard and was very active in the temperance movement. When he retired from business he entered politics first of all as the member for Enoggera in the Legislative Assembly then as founder of the Patriotic League which became the Queensland Political Association and from 1894 until his death in 1900 was a member of the Legislative Council.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bulimba” style=”fancy”] The name Bulimba is of Aboriginal origin but it was not the Aboriginal name for the area. The Aboriginal people called that part of the world Tugulawa. It was White’s Hill over near Cannon Hill that they called Bulimba. However when the pioneering settler David McConnell of Cressbrook in the Brisbane Valley built a house there 1849-1850 he called it Bulimba. This is a two-story house modelled on the family’s home in the English county of Derbyshire and the suburb gained its name from this one of the earliest stone houses built in Brisbane. When David McConnell returned from Scotland with his young wife they made Bulimba their home. He sold off some of his land cheaply to people who worked for him. Others also bought in the area. But the house was sold in 1854 when David and Mary McConnell went back to Britain because of her health. When they came back in 1862 they lived at Cressbrook.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bullecourt” style=”fancy”]Bullecourt was one of those Soldier Settlement areas named after a World War I battlefield in France where Australian soldiers fought. During the First Battle of Bullecourt 11 April 1917 the Australians lost 66 percent of their men killed wounded or captured and engendered in them a distrust of the British High Command. The Second Battle of Bullencourt that started 3 May and lasted for two weeks was marked by both serious blunders and outstanding courage.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bulwyer Island” style=”fancy”] Like Lytton, Bulwer Island was named by the Governor Sir George Ferguson Bowen in honour of Sir Edward Bulwer Lytton who appointed him to the position of Governor for the new colony.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bundall” style=”fancy”]Bundall was the name of a major sugar plantation on the Nerang River in the 1870s and 80s. It was first settled by an English immigrant Edmund Price for cotton growing but Price ended up a derelict alcoholic on the streets of Brisbane. It came to its heyday during the ownership of Alfred Holland who leased the land to Holland Miskin and Company for the Bundall Sugar Plantation and Mill. In its original Aboriginal form the name referred to a prickly vine.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bundamba” style=”fancy”]The Aboriginal meaning for the word Bundanba from which Bundamba is derived is said to have meant the place of tomahawks. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bunjurgen” style=”fancy”] J. G. Steele says that the word means a female of the banjur class and that the Aboriginal people used it of the south peak on Mt French[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Burbank” style=”fancy”] The area was named in 1976 after the Burbank family. Alf Burbank was a government surveyor when he and his wife settled at what was then known as Upper Tingalpa. He later moved away from the area but his son Frank a timber-getter and breeder of draught horses stayed on and was a member of the Tingalpa Shire Council.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Buruda” style=”fancy”] Aboriginal for forest oak[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Burleigh Heads” style=”fancy”]Burleigh heads was named by surveyor J. R. Warner in 1840. He originally spelt it Burly Heads. The Aboriginal name for Little Burleigh was Jellurgal and for Big Burleigh Jabbribillum. Burghley House was the family seat of the famous Cecil family in England. Lord Burleigh was also the Marquis of Exeter and in his political involvements upheld the long-standing English discrimination against Roman Catholics as well as resisting other reforms.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Burncluith” style=”fancy”] This district north of Chinchilla is named after an early pastoral run. It may have originally been Barncluith[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Burnett River” style=”fancy”]The river was named by Sir Charles Fitzroy Governor of New South Wales 7 September 1847 in honour of the surveyor James Charles Burnett (1815-1854). Burnett was born in the north of England arrived in Sydney with his father in 1829 joined the Survey Department as a clerk in 1833 become a qualified surveyor in 1836. In 1844 he was sent to set up the new Survey Office in Brisbane. He then led several exploratory expeditions both to the north and south of Brisbane. But his years roughing it as an explorer and surveyor took its toll. He suffered badly from rheumatism for some years prior to his death at the age of 39 only days after he had been elected a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. The river has given its name to the Burnett and South Burnett Districts[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Burnside” style=”fancy”]Patrick and Mary King from County Clare in Ireland worked on the Naamba cattle run prior to their selection of an adjacent 314 acre property that they called Burnside. A small burn or creek ran through the property.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Burpengarry” style=”fancy”] The name comes from Burpen-gar meaning the place of the green wattle tree. This tree sometimes also called the early black wattle grows in open forest country. South East Queensland is about as far north as it grows but it is to be found in all the southern states. Its bark is dark grey almost black. Its scientific name is Acacia decurrens. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Burra Burri” style=”fancy”] .This district north-east of Chinchilla means a meeting place.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Byee” style=”fancy”]The name can be translated as ironbark tree an aboriginal term for the area.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bunya” style=”fancy”]The district of Bunya is now occupied by the Bunyaville State Forest but the first mail service under that name started in 1874. Its name was changed to Wongan and later Wongun but when the post office closed 1951 the name Bunya was again used for the district. So a tree which featured markedly in the Aboriginal life of South East Queensland prior to white settlement is commemorated. Constance Petrie following her father Tom Petrie says that the Aboriginal pronunciation was bon-yi. However Archibald Meston claimed that this was the name used only by the old Aborigines from the Brisbane region. The Aboriginal folk of the Bunya Mountains called the tree bahnya. Its scientific name is Araucaria Bidwilli. Every third year the Aboriginal tribes who lived in the bunya growing areas sent out verbal invitations and people gathered from far and wide. Tom Petrie remembered seeing something like 700 people at one of these gatherings on the Blackall Range. These gathering went on for weeks and each night tribes showed off their new dances at the corroborees but the whole picnic would finish with a fight to settle old scores. Local Aboriginal people had their own trees and no one else climbed these. Whereas other trees would be notched the bunya tree was never cut. A vine loop around the trunk was used to aid climbing. The large cones were split open and the nuts roasted. Blocks of land were sold in what was being called the town of Kedron 1887-1891 but the Land’s Department asked for a change of name. The name Bunyaville was suggested and this was used until 1972 when that area was absorbed into Everton Hills. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Bunya Mountains” style=”fancy”] The Aboriginal name for this species of pine tree has given its name to the mountains which used to be an important gathering place for Aboriginal tribes. See also Mount Mowbullam[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Burrum” style=”fancy”]The name Burrum comes from an Aboriginal word which could be translated ‘big’. The name Burrum Heads was used early on but it then went by the name of Traviston after Robert Travis who selected land there in 1871 and as Traveston when subdivided in 1888. Then in 1950 it officially reverted to its original name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Buruda” style=”fancy”] Aboriginal for forest oak.[/su_spoiler] [/su_accordion]
[/su_tab] [su_tab title=”C“] [su_accordion][su_spoiler title=”Cabarlah” style=”fancy”] The meaning has been given as range or mountain view and also as black possum[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cabbage Tree” style=”fancy”] The cabbage tree palm the locally used name for Livistona Australia gave its name to Cabbage Tree Creek in Brisbane and to Cabbage Tree Point on the GoldCoast. It is thought that Captain Thomas Smales who around 1869 selected land on Moreton Bay to the north of what is now the Gold Coast gave this name to the Point. By the 1960s it was in the hands of Bill Wilton and the subdivision there was known as Wilton Estate.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Caboolture” style=”fancy”] The area around the Caboolture River was called by the Brisbane Aborigines Kabul-tur meaning the place of the carpet snakes because these reptiles were plentiful in the area. The Bribie people also referred to it as the place of carpet snakes but the name in their language was Wonga-dum. Carpet snakes were an important source of food for the Aboriginal people and the birds which excitedly gathered around a carpet snake would unwittingly lead the hunters to their prey in the swamps or up in staghorn ferns or wherever they were to be found. The river was important for the opening up of the country to white settlement. Timber getters floated red cedar logs down the river settlers arrived and ferried their supplies in by means of the river. The river gave its name to a licensed grazing run to a cotton company that fizzled and ultimately to the township which grew up as a supply and trading centre for the settlers in the area.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cadarga” style=”fancy”] This district north-north eat of Chinchilla gained its name from an early pastoral lease.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cainbable” style=”fancy”] Reportedly a corruption of an Aboriginal phrase Bundjalung language Yugumbir dialect from kabun indicating scrub or jungle and bubera indicating scrubby forest country. Department of Natural Resources Mines and Water www.nrm.qld.gov.au/property/placenames [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Calamvale” style=”fancy”] James Calam owned much of the land in this part of the world in the early 1900s and it was still in the hands of his family when taken over by Ridgewood Development Pty LtdÂ in 1972. Although the name had been used locally before that and the Calamvale Primary SchoolÂ opened in 1955 it was not until 1972 that the suburb was officially named.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Caloundra” style=”fancy”] The name comes from the Aboriginal Kalowen-ba meaning the place of the beech trees. These were plentiful in the area before being cut out by the timber getters. An 1845 map shows the locality as Callowundor which more accurately translates the Aboriginal name.Â The early story of white invasion is one of castaways and shipwrecks. The first white men in the area were Pamphlett Finnegan and Parsons who set out from Sydney to sail south to collect timber but ended up being blown north and eventually landed on Moreton island. they thought they still had to travel in a northerly direction to get back to Sydney so they travelled up past the area now known as Caloundra. Runaway convicts Graham and Bracefield must also have been in the area some years later.In 1863 a passenger on the migrant ship Queen of the Colonies died. Captain Cairncross organized a party of fourteen to go ashore on Moreton Island to bury the body but they were caught in a storm on the way back to the ship and were driven north overnight to come ashore on a beach that became Moffat Beach at Caloundra. When they tried to re-launch the boat in an attempt to row to Brisbane the boat was wrecked and Mr Bransfield the grieving husband of the dead woman drowned. Eventually the rest were rescued by a search party sent out from Brisbane.The steam-driven merchant ship the Dickey was driven ashore in a cyclone in 1893 leaving the wreck on the beach which adopted its name. Andrew Petrie used his mother’s family name when naming Point Hutchison. The Point Hutchison area came to be called Caloundra.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Calvert” style=”fancy”] Some places get a name and stick with it but others undergo a number of changes. Calvert for example was formerly McKeons Alfreds and Western Gates. Â J. Calvert was a member of Leichhardt’s 1844 expedition from Moreton Bay to Port Essington.[/su_spoiler][su_spoiler title=”Camp Hill” style=”fancy”] Although the name does not appear to have been used for the area until the 1930s it dates back to the earlier days of travel. This area on the hillside half-way between Brisbane and the Redlands was a convenient camping spot hence the name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Camp Hill” style=”fancy”] Although the name does not appear to have been used for the area until the 1930s it dates back to the earlier days of travel. This area on the hillside half-way between Brisbane and the Redlands was a convenient camping spot hence the name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Camp Mountain” style=”fancy”] n 1872 application to the Board of Education for a school was signed by farmers at ‘the mountain camp’ as well as by folk from Samford and the South Pine River area. It apparently referred to the area below the mountain which has been known by both the names of Mt Daniel and Camp Mountain. It probably got its name from a prospectors’ camp there in the 1860s. Attempts at gold mining continued into the 20th century.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Campbell’s Plains” style=”fancy”] Named after Colin Campbell according to a publication by the Southern and Western District Railway Historical Association.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cambooya” style=”fancy”] Christopher Rolleston Commissioner of Crown lands named his headquarters Cambooya a name he learnt from the local Aboriginal people. It is said to refer either to some kind of waterhole vegetation (reeds rushes or a small tuber have been suggested) or on the other hand a place of many winds. He had been born at Burton-Joyce Nottinghamshire England 1817 son of an Anglican minister. He migrated to Australia 1838 and tried farming for a while with his younger brother Philip but secured the government position of Commissioner of Crown Lands in the newly opened up area of the Darling Downs 1842 and he stayed in this position until he went back to England in 1853 to marry Katherine sister of Patrick Leslie Darling Downs pioneer. On returning to Sydney he held several government appointments: private secretary to the Governor Registrar-General and Auditor General. He acquired properties in Central Queensland and was prominent in Sydney financial circles. He died in Sydney 1888.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cambroon” style=”fancy”] This district between Kenilworth and Conondale gets its name from Cambroon Run named in 1850 after an old Aboriginal who claimed that it was part of his territory. He was said to be an expert tomahawk thrower.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Camira” style=”fancy”] The name was chosen by the local Progress Association in the 1970s. It is of Aboriginal derivation but language group unknown. Said to refer to the wind.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Canaipa” style=”fancy”] This name meaning ironbark spear originally given by the Aboriginal people to Russell Island itself is now the name of the north-eastern point on Russell Island and a nearby boating channel.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Canning Downs” style=”fancy”] Allan Cunningham wrote in his diary for 8 June 1827 Large cleared patches of land lying to the North of the Darling Downs were named Peels Plains while others bearing to the South and South East of my ample undulated surface were entitled Canning Downs in honour of the late Right Hon. George Canning. George Canning (1770-1827) entered British politics in 1793 and rose rapidly to ministerial rank. He was wounded in a duel with Lord Castlereagh a member of his own party. He held a number of prominent positions ultimately becoming Prime Minister but his Prime Ministership was brought to a close after only 119 days with his death.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cannon Hill” style=”fancy”] It seems that government surveyors gave the name to the hill because some fallen trees there looked like cannon poking out into the air. Then when the Wheedon family established their home nearby they called it Cannon Hill House and when they subdivided their property in the 1880s it was marketed as the Cannon Hill Estate.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Capalaba” style=”fancy”] The name is an Aboriginal word meaning place of possum scrub. A settlement grew up here at ‘The Rocks’ on Tingalpa Creek the main crossing point for people travelling from Brisbane to Cleveland prior to the bridge being built in 1874. Then the opening of the bridge led to further development.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Carbrook” style=”fancy”] Before the white invasion the area was called Tablabuba or Tabooba which meant bitter water in the language of the Yaggapols who lived there. German settlers in the 1860s called it Gramzow after a town in Germany but this was changed during the First World War when anything German was suspect to Carbrook the name of a town in South Yorkshire. The local residents were presented by the postal authorities with a short list of names to choose from and this is the name they selected.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Carina” style=”fancy”] Carina homestead was named by Ebenezer Thorne after his only child Kate Carina Thorne and thence it passed on to become the name of the suburb. Thorne was for a while a timber-getter. He was a journalist and author of the book Queen of the Colonies published in 1876 after eight years in Queensland. He became a member of the Belmont Divisional Board and an advocate of reafforestation. His daughter showed literary talents too and the Telegraph newspaper over the years published many of her poems. As a girl she rode to Belmont School on a donkey accompanied by a groom who patiently let other children have rides on the donkey before he returned it home ready to be brought back at the end of the school day. She married George Nicholls. Ebenezer’s brothers Paul and William also lived on the south side of the Brisbane River.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Carindale” style=”fancy”] Carindale was developed in 1982 from the earlier Carina used since the 1880s.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Carmyle” style=”fancy”] When James Wilson selected land on Wide Bay Creek 1876 he named his property after his birth place in Scotland. He had arrived with his parents in Gympie ten days after James Nash’s discovery of gold was made public in 1867.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Carole Park” style=”fancy”] The name was chosen by the developer of the estate.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Carrara” style=”fancy”]The short-lived Manchester Cotton Company selected land in this area the main feature of which was its swamp which covered a long treeless plain. The name is from an Aboriginal dialect meaning long. The first Carrara post office was opened in 1902.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Carseldine” style=”fancy”] The short-lived Manchester Cotton Company selected land in this area the main feature of which was its swamp which covered a long treeless plain. The name is from an Aboriginal dialect meaning long. The first Carrara post office was opened in 1902.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cassim Island” style=”fancy”] The small island off Cleveland is named after Vincent Cassim an early publican at Cleveland. He is buried at the One Mile cemetery near Dunwich.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cecil Plains” style=”fancy”] Cecil Plains grazing run was named by Henry Stuart Russell and his brother Sydenham after their mother Cecil Charlotte nee Pemberton. They were sons of a wealthy East India Company officer who came to New South Wales for adventure. Henry Stuart RussellÂ joined Pemberton Hodgson and Isaac in the rush north following in the tracks of the Leslie brothers but his first impression of the Darling Downs was anything but favourable. He called the Condamine a ‘dirty looking boggy little bed of a stream stagnant on both sides’ and he described the plains as ‘a soft puffy black soil full of holes up and down and every way but pleasant for riding over.’ However Sydenham persuaded him to become a squatter and in 1841 with a much more favourable opinion of the land they laid claim to extensive country on both sides of the Condamine River between Yandilla and Jimbour.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cedar Creek” style=”fancy”] Considering the value placed on the red cedar trees growing in the rainforests in the early days of settlement its not surprising that more than one place today is known as Cedar Creek.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chances Plain” style=”fancy”] A little girl was lost and the searchers kept looking for her in the chance that she could be found in this area about 8 kilometres from Chinchilla.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chambers Island” style=”fancy”] Charles and Thomas Chambers (brothers) were early timber-getters in the Buderim and Yandina districts.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chandler” style=”fancy”] John Beale Chandler was born at Bunwell Norfolk England 21 February 1887. He migrated at the age of twenty and went into business as an electrician and electrical goods retailer. He was successful in business as the string of Chandler stores still testifies but he also started Brisbaneâ??s first commercial radio station. He went into both local government and state politics. He was Lord Mayor of Brisbane 1940-1952 and leader of the Queensland Peopleâ??s Party (which later became the Queensland Liberal Party) 1943-1946. He died 1962.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chapel Hill” style=”fancy”] The name for this suburb draws attention to the existence of the people called Methodists. Back in 1873 one of the Methodist Churches which later united to form the Methodist Church of Australasia the Primitive Methodist Church bought land and in the next year built a chapel on the hill in such a prominent position that it became a landmark for people travelling out along Moggill Road. The area gained its name from this chapel on the hill.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chatsworth” style=”fancy”] The area was named after Chatsworth Castle in Derbyshire England where George Flay had once worked as a gardener.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chelmer” style=”fancy”] The name seems to be derived from Chelmer River in Essex the stream on which Chelmsford was built. It was the name given to the railway station when the railway line opened in the 1880s.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cherbourg” style=”fancy”] This French name came about by accident. Richard Jones the second owner of Barambah holding wrote to the Government in Sydney suggesting Cherbury as the name for this block this being where his family came from in England. But his handwriting was not clear and some official read it as Cherburg. Then someone else thought to correct what he took to be a misspelling of the name of the French seaport and wrote Cherbourg. So Cherbourg it became. Richard Jones (1786 – 1852) who had Sydney business interests as well as pastoral interests became the first member of parliament for Moreton Bay in the New South Wales Legislative Assembly. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chermside” style=”fancy”] The district first gained its name from the creek which ran through the area Downfall Creek and was opened up for closer settlement in the 1860s in an attempt by the Queensland Government to get itself out of financial difficulties. The Downfall Creek State School commenced July 1900. The first principal James Youatt did not like the name given to the district and led a move which resulted in a change of name to Chermside in honour of Sir Herbert Chermside who commenced his term as Governor of Queensland in 1902. Herbert Chermside had gained rapid promotion in his career in the army engineers. He married twice but had no children. While he has been called a capable administrator he was not a happy man. His wife complained that in Queensland she was not treated with the respect that she thought was her due. He wanted to resign after only six months in the position because he thought that the Queensland Government was not keeping him according to the standards that he and Lady Chermside expected. She returned to Britain after two years. He served out his full three-year term. He died 1929.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chevallum” style=”fancy”] It is believed by some that the name comes from local Aboriginal words meaning flat place[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Childers” style=”fancy”] Hugh and Emily Childers lived in Melbourne from 1850 to 1858 but they made quite an impression on Victoria in those eight years. She was known for her beauty and he for his involvement in the founding of the University of Melbourne as well as for his work in supervising the school system as Auditor-General and as Collector of Customs. He was an elected member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly for two years. When they returned to England he entered the House of Commons and continued there as a member and as a minister from 1860 to 1892. Among the leading roles which he played were those of the First Lord of the Admiralty Secretary of State for War Chancellor of the Exchequor and Home Secretary. His first wife died in 1875 and he re-married in 1879 this time to Katherine who was like himself the offspring of an Anglican clergyman. She pre-deceased him by a few months when he died in 1896 at the age of 69. The town of Childers north-west of Maryborough was named after this same Hugh Culling Eardley Childers.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chinchilla” style=”fancy”] Ludwig Leighhardt borrowed the Aboriginal word jinchilla when referring to the cypress pine that grows well in the area and when in 1848 Matthew Goggs applied for a lease in this name additional to his Woonongera property it seems that the people in the Syndey Lands Office wrote Chinchilla instead. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Chingee” style=”fancy”] The Aboriginal people called this mountain Bong Bong or Bung Bung. White settlers thought that it might have referred to the place of the dead[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Churchbank” style=”fancy”] The name arose from the presence of a Presbyterian Church in the district. It used to also have a Cribb and Foote ginnery and a store.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Clagiraba” style=”fancy”] Clagiraba Creek which flows into the Coomera River derived its name from the aboriginal kalagareebah a place where the young men assemble as part of their initiation ceremony.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Clayfield” style=”fancy”] The Petries had a quarry at Albion but the area further out came to be dotted with clay pits as brickmaking went on in the area too. From these clay fields the area got its name. The railway station’s name was changed in 1886 from Sandgate Road Crossing to Clayfield thus stamping the name on the suburb for ever. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Clear Mountain” style=”fancy”] An early settler in the area W.L.Gordon referred to the mountain as Tongi which he said was the Aboriginal name for it a name meaning plenty of wind. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cleveland” style=”fancy”] Surveyor Warner suggested the name in honour of the Duke of Cleveland and it was declared a township in the Government Gazette 13 December 1851. To the Aboriginal people the area was Nandeebie. Argument for and against the continuing transportation of convicts to Moreton Bay was raging at the time and many thought that this town should become the port for the free settlers in the Moreton Bay region. Henry Stuart Russell says that Governor Sir George Gipps decided to visit Cleveland before proceeding to Brisbane to make a decision about the port but had to wade through extensive mud flats to get ashore. ‘Floundering and flopping through such a hundred years of deep nastiness was quite enough to settle the question between Brisbane and its rival.’ It is said of William Harry Vane Duke of Cleveland and Earl of Darlington that he seldom spoke in the House of Lords and that when he did his manner was better than his matter. His main interests were fox hunting and horse racing. He owned Raby Castle and went to great lengths to ensure that he could be assured of good hunting in the area. Since none of his three sons had heirs the title became extinct with the death of his youngest son.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Clifton” style=”fancy”] In 1843 Francis Forbes son of the former Chief Justice of New South Wales took over the grazing run that had been taken up by Sibley and King as King’s Creek Station. He was later joined by his brother David. Their first manager was a cousin John Milbourne Marsh. who gave the property its name. Clifton was his home town and of Lady Amelia Sophia Forbes. However the town itself really owes its existence to James Mowen who settled in the area in 1869 as a storekeeper and publican. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Clontarf” style=”fancy”] The Clontarf after which the area of the Redcliffe Peninsula is named features prominently in Irish history. It was at Clontarf Cluain Tarbh in the gaelic literally pasture of bulls on the north shore of Dublin Bay that the Irish under Brian Boru in 1014 defeated the Vikings who had been invading and colonising their island for two hundred years although this King of Munster was himself killed in the battle. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Closeburn” style=”fancy”] This was the name of a village in Scotland. The name was given to a train station there by the Railways Department in 1901.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cloyna” style=”fancy”] Tony Matthews in Landscapes of Change A History of the South Burnett Volume 1 quoting from an article in the South Burnett Times of 1927 says this was the Aboriginal name for the area meaning wild dog or dingo. But then the Cloyna State School 1911-1986 75th Jubilee Book says that H. Lumley Lawless-Pyne called his property Cloyne after his ancestral home in Country Cork Ireland and that this property gave its name to the district as Cloyna when the first school was erected.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coalfalls” style=”fancy”] The Ipswich suburb gained its name from Coalfalls the residence of Sir James Blair who was born there originating with the presence of coal seams visible in the river bank. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coes Creek” style=”fancy”] Robert Coe selected 160 acres 12 September 1882 on which he grew sugarcane becoming one of the early shareholders of the Moreton Central Sugar Mill in Nambour.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coles Creek” style=”fancy”] Named after an early settler Asher Coles who took up 240 acres on what was then known as Fifteen Mile Creek[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Colleges Crossing” style=”fancy”] It seems that George College after whom the area is named also sometimes spelt his name Colledge. He arrived in Moreton Bay 1849 and settled in this area.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coleyville” style=”fancy”] Philemon and Sylvia Coley migrated from Halesowen Worcester on the Southern Ocean in 1866 and eventually settled here later giving their name to the locality. One of their twin sons died on the voyage out. Philemon picked cotton at Redbank Plains and then worked on a farm at Mt Walker before buying land when the Normanby station was cut up for closer settlement. He died 1915 and Sylvia in 1921.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Colinton” style=”fancy”] The Balfours John Charles and Robert on taking up land in 1841 named their holding Colinton after their home village on the outskirts of Edinburgh Scotland. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Colmslie” style=”fancy”] After years at sea Captain William Caircross arrived in Sydney 1839 moved to Brisbane married Elizabeth and went into business as a baker and confectioner. He named the house he built in 1881 Colmslie after an old family estate in Scotland. He included an observatory in it and used to forward on weather and shipping information to the authorities.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Condamine” style=”fancy”] Allan Cunningham named it Condamine’s River after Lieutenant Thomas De La Condamine an aide to Governor Darling. He was a man of some influence in Sydney: involved among other things in the management of the Female Factory at Parramatta the boys institution known as Carter’s Barracks and in the establishment of the Australian Subscription Library. He left New South Wales in 1831 and returned to England He died on the Isle of Wight 1873 at the age of 76.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Conondale” style=”fancy”] Donald Mackenzie named his station after the River Conon in Scotland the district where he was born. The river was known to the Kabi people at Numabulla. Donald McKenzie had come to Australia in 1839 and took part with the Balfour brothers in the rush for grazing land in the Brisbane Valley. After spending some time with them at Colinton he tendered for land at the headwaters of the Mary River in 1851 and moved onto it in 1853 giving it the name Conondale. When the Gympie gold rush started the track northwards from Brisbane passed the Durandur station ( near the present Woodford) and then climbed the range to the Conondale station. It was not long before a road was marked closer to the coast but until that happened Conondale was well known to travellers on the Gympie track. Several bullock drays overturned and were destroyed in their attempts to negotiate the range. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coochiemudlo” style=”fancy”] To the Coobenpil speaking members of the Yuggera or Jagara tribe the most important thing about this island was its deposit of decomposed igneous rock. This provided them with the red ochre with which they decorated their bodies at corroboree times. So it is not surprising then that one of their names for the island was something that sounded like Kutchi Mudlo meaning red stone. When Matthew Flinders landed on the eastern side 19 July 1799 he simply marked it on his map as the Sixth Island in the area. The beach where he landed is now called Norfolk Beach after his sloop the Norfolk built on Norfolk island. Lieutenant Innis of the 57th Regiment stationed at Moreton Bay carried out exploration in the southern parts ofÂ the Moreton Bay district and while some people continued to refer to the island by its Aboriginal name others called it Innis Island. This name appeared on the map (1842) produced as a result of Robert Dixon’s trigonometrical survey of the island. When the result of the 1885 survey into one acre allotments was published the anglicized form of the Aboriginal name Coochiemudlo was used. Subsequently it was used in the crown land sales which began 1888[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coochin” style=”fancy”] The word seems to have referred to the colour red in several Aboriginal languages. It was used by some for the red clay used as a colouring and by the Ugarapul south of Toorbul as the name for the red-billed swan. Coochin Mountain and Creek are in the Glasshouse region while the property Coochin Coochin is in the Fassifern area. In 1881 James Campbell and Sons established a sawmill four miles up along Coochin Creek and from there shipped timber to Brisbane and other Australian ports.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coochin Coochin” style=”fancy”] Coochin Coochin is in the Fassifern area. In 1881 James Campbell and Sons established a sawmill four miles up along Coochin Creek and from there shipped timber to Brisbane and other Australian ports.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coolabunia” style=”fancy”] The name is said to have come from a local Aboriginal language and to have referred to a sleeping koala – the place of the sleeping koalas. It was one of the four blocks which originally comprised Nanango station.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coolana” style=”fancy”] A postal receiving office here from 1898 to about 1916 was known as Hillside but when it was reopened in 1923 it was called Coolana a name suggested by the local residents at the request of the postal authorities. It’s meaning is not known.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coolangatta” style=”fancy”] The beach resort on the New South Wales border gets its name from a ship the Coolangatta which was wrecked there 18 August 1846. The ship in its turn got its name from the estate of Alexander Berry on the South Coast of New South Wales. Berry with his business partner Edward Wollstonecraft acquired extensive lands on the North Shore of Sydney Harbour and along the Shoalhaven River. When his brothers and sisters migrated to New South Wales they joined him on the southern property which he had named Coolangatta. The name Berry is perpetuated in the district there today by the name of the nearby town.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cooloothin” style=”fancy”] Cooloothin or Gooroothin means a beach tree.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coolum” style=”fancy”]The town and the beach get their name from the mountain. The name is of Aboriginal origin and although it has variously be interpreted as wailing noises or wind in the caves or solid referring to the fact that that the trees there had no hollows in them for honey possum or goanna to be found in them the most generally accepted explanation is that gulum or kulum means without or wanting a reference to the fact that the mountain has no peak so could be called headless. There is a legend that Ninderry knocked Coolum’s head off and it now lies in the sea as Mudjimba Island. Walter Hay who came from Maryborough by way of Noosaville took up land in 1882 around Coolum Hill.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coombabah” style=”fancy”] Coombabah Creek after which the Gold Coast area gets its name either means home of turtles wood grubs or a pocket of land.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coomera” style=”fancy”] Alexander McLeay who had arrived in Sydney the previous year to take up the position of Colonial Secretary must have been delighted by Captain Logan’s report dated 24 May 1827. Patrick Logan while on one of his exploratory expeditions had come across another considerable river to the south of Brisbane and advised that he had taken the liberty of naming it the McLeay. However soon after his term in office came to an end in 1837 McLeay’s name was taken away from the river and the name of a London cartographic company Arrowsmith which had published many maps of NSW was substituted at the suggestion of the surveyor Robert Dixon. But that name did not gain popularity. The Aboriginal name was to gain enduring recognition and consequently the settlement which grew up by the river assumed the same name. It may derive from kumera kumera the name of a particular kind of fern that grew in the area or as some say it may have referred to a particular species of wattle or even that the single word may have been the word for blood. The early settler Charles Binstead maintained that Kumera was the Aboriginal name for the river. A township on the southern banks of the river was called Ferry Crossing until the railway gave the name of Coomera to the train station there. For a time there were two settlements known as Coomera – Coomera (Lower) and Coomera (Upper). The school at Coomera Lower only changed to Coomera State School in 1900.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coominya” style=”fancy”] The name means water view and was developed from the Aboriginal Kung-i-nya. This referred to the visibility of lagoons from the railway station and township. The lagoons have since been drained. It was formerly called Bellevue after the Bellevue cattle station that it served.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coonoon Gibber” style=”fancy”] .The name of this creek is said to mean big stone.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coonowrin” style=”fancy”] This one of the Glasshouse Mountains is also called Crookneck. An Aboriginal story tells of Coonowrin being clubbed by his father Tibrogargan for not looking after his mother Beerwah when the sea was rising. The blow left Coonowrin with a permanently crooked neck. It is derived from coonong-warrong or kudna-warun crooked neck.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Coopers Plains” style=”fancy”] Place names sometimes undergo changes so that an original reference is hidden behind the present day terminology. Coopers Plains is one such place. It was named after Dr Henry Cowper the first Australian-trained medical practitioner. He came to Brisbane penal settlement in September 1825 a year before the hospital was built. Although he acted as a lay reader of Anglican services he had a reputation for being uncouth ill-tempered and quarrelsome and was a heavy drinker and smoker greatly disliked by his fellow officers. He stayed in the settlement for seven years until he was discharged from the army after breaking into the female prisoners quarters while on a drunken spree with some companions one night. Born in Drypool Yorkshire 1800 he was the son of Rev. W. Cowper who settled in Sydney. For all his faults he was conscientious in his work and Captain Logan named the agricultural outstation on Oxley Creek somewhat to the west of the present Coopers Plains after him. After he left Moreton Bay he established a successful medical practice in Sydney.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cooran” style=”fancy”] From guran meaning tall trees or Moreton Bay ash[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cooroibah (Lake Cooroibah)” style=”fancy”] Place of possums.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cooyar” style=”fancy”] The town was named after the creek which was named after the Aboriginal tribe that lived in the area. Land was first issued to D. Archer & Co in 1847 and the town was surveyed by E. Warakar in 1902. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Corella” style=”fancy”] This district near Gympie was named after the corella of the cockatoo family plentiful in the area in the early days of settlement.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Corinda” style=”fancy”] The holding was taken up by J.W.Raven 27 June 1863 but the estate named afterÂ Corinda station between Aramac and Muttaburra is also linked to the name of Sir Arthur Palmer. In the 1870s it was owned by a company in which he held an interest. The name is of Aboriginal origin from Kareenda a scrub pocket where Aboriginal people camped. Arthur Hunter Palmer born in Armagh Ireland arrived in Sydney 1838. He managed grazing properties belonging to Henry Dangar for 23 years and then started building his own pastoral empire. He was a Member of the Legislative Assembly from 1866 to 1881 and for nearly four of those years was Premier. He was a member of the Legislative Council from 1881 until his death in 1898. Apart from Corinda he occupied some of the other great houses around Brisbane at one time or another notably Fernberg and Oakwal. He died at his Toowong home Eastern Grey after some years of painful arthritis and after weathering accusations in relation to the financial mismanagement of the Queensland National Bank of which he was a director. The Railway Department at first simply referred to the rail junction as the South Brisbane Railway Junction but W.H.Hassell who surveyed the estate for development suggested the Corinda name for the suburb. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cornubia” style=”fancy”] The Taylor family in the 1920s called their property Cornubia Park but when members of the public used to arrive for picnics thinking that it was parkland the owners the Jessens in 1934 dropped the word Park from the name. It was sold to a developer in 1956.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cotton Tree” style=”fancy”] When a township was surveyed here in 1908 it was called the Township of Maroochydore but over time it came to be know as Cotton Tree because of the large indigenous hibiscus tiliaceus trees commonly known as Cotton Trees which grow there. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cottonvale” style=”fancy”] This Granite Belt settlement was named after E. Cotton an early resident.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cracknell Road” style=”fancy”] Cracknell Road was named after W J. Cracknell who was born in England 1832. An Oxford graduate he arrived in Brisbane in the late 1850s and purchased land upon which he built Arundel Lodge and when it was destroyed by fire Fernvale House. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Craigslea” style=”fancy”] This promotional name for a sub-division in Chermside West was suggested by a large house overlooking the area Ravenscraig. The name is used of the state schools in the area but is not a recognized suburb name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Crawford” style=”fancy”] The township which was surveyed in 1910 was named after H. R. Crawford the engineer in charge of putting the railway line through from Wondai to Kingaroy.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cressbrook” style=”fancy”] David McConnell named his grazing run after the family farm in Derbyshire (1841).[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Crestmead” style=”fancy”] The Brisbane City Council approved the naming of the suburb in May 1986 and it was gazetted in June of the following year. The name was that used by the developer.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Crohamhurst” style=”fancy”] Owen Jones named his property Crohamhurst after a village in England. His son Inigo Jones set up the Crohamhurst Observatory on this property in 1935. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Crownthorpe” style=”fancy”] According to the Murgon centenary booklet it was the school inspector who named the school at its opening in 1914 making it up of crown because it was built on crown land and thorpe meaning a small English village.[/su_spoiler [su_spoiler title=”Crows Nest” style=”fancy”] Whatever the real basis for calling the town Crows Nest a legend has arisen and has been given an air of respectability by a statue erected in Centenary Park. This purports to be of a lone Aboriginal Jimmy Crow who use to live in a hollow tree near the teamsters camp. It is said that the town got its name from this man. However Crows Nest Run dates from 1849 when James Canning Pearce took up the pastoral grazing lease.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Cunninghams Gap” style=”fancy”] Whatever the real basis for calling the town Crows Nest a legend has arisen and has been given an air of respectability by a statue erected in Centenary Park. This purports to be of a lone Aboriginal Jimmy Crow who used to live in a hollow tree near the teamsters camp. It is said that the town got its name from this man. However Crows Nest Run dates from 1849 when James Canning Pearce took up the pastoral grazing lease.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Curra” style=”fancy”] Walter Hay who took up the cattle run in 1859 called the place Currie although the Aboriginal people had called it Kurui meaning a grey forest possum. The name was later changed to Curra.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Currigee” style=”fancy”] Currigee was once the headquarters of the Moreton Bay Oyster Company. The name comes from an Aboriginal language. It could mean the mouth of a creek or it could refer to the currajong tree.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Currimundi” style=”fancy”] Since the Aboriginal languages were spoken languages and not written and since European ears were not always adjusted to pick up the nuances there is sometimes confusion over the original pronunciation of words which now appear as name places in South East Queensland. Currimundi is a case in point. It seems that the word was probably Garamandha the place of flying foxes. This became Girramundi and as such was the name of Sir Leslie Wilson’s residence in the area. It has also been spelt Curramindi. In 1845 Surveyor Burnett used what he said was the Aboriginal name Crummunda. However the name Currimundi was certainly being used by 1891. The large fruit bat or flying fox was a highly regarded food item for tribal Aboriginal people. Its flesh when roasted whole on the coals is said to be a bit like chicken.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Currumbin” style=”fancy”] This is the Aboriginal name for a species of pine tree but it was not the name by which the creek was shown on the maps drawn by surveyor Dixon in 1839. He called it Anson Creek after Admiral George Anson who after serving as private secretary to Lord Melbourne the Whig Prime Minister of England became the private secretary to Albert the husband of the young Queen Victoria. Albert wanted to bring a German retinue with him but the leaders of the English parliament would not hear of it. Anson was appointed to ensure that an English viewpoint was expressed to the Prince. However Albert and Anson became close friends. As Currumbin Creek the creek gave its name to the surrounding locality. The Queensland Railways gave the meaning of the name as High up or a place where high trees grow.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Curtis Falls” style=”fancy”] This waterfall on Mt Tamborine is named after the Curtis family who since Edmond Ford Curtis moved his family there from the Albert River area in 1872 lived nearby. They had a water-powered sawmill upstream from the falls. Sydney Curtis in 1907 was one of the Tamborine Shire Councillors who advocated the establishment of a national park there.[/su_spoiler] [/su_accordion] [/su_tab][su_tab title=”D“] [su_accordion][su_spoiler title=”Dagun” style=”fancy”] The name was given to the railway station 22 January 1914 and is thought to derive from Aboriginal word meaning home camp although locally it has been interpreted as ‘big water’ referring to a big flood.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Daisy Hill” style=”fancy”] A name like Daisy Hill invites legends one of which is that there was once a woman called Daisy who operated a brothel there but this is probably nothing more than legend. The other traditional story is that the daughter of the Dennis family suggested the name because of the daisies that were growing there. This is more probable. James and Mary Anne Dennis selected 60 acres in 1868 and expanded their holding over the years.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”D’Aguilar” style=”fancy”] In 1827 Sir Thomas Mitchell the Surveyor-General for the Colony of New South Wales named the D’Aguilar Range after Sir George D’Aguilar a military officer who wrote the army textbook in use at the time Regulations and Punishments of the British Army. He was probably known personally to the Governor Lieutenant General Ralph Darling; the Moreton Bay Commandant Captain Patrick Logan; the explorer Major Edmund Lockyer as well as to Major Mitchell for they all served in the Peninsula Wars under the Duke of Wellington. It is not clear which of these three originally suggested the name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dakabin” style=”fancy”] This was an Aboriginal name for the grasstree a plant of the genus Xanthorrhoea commonly called the black boy. The name was given to the railway station by the Railways Department in 1888.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dalby” style=”fancy”] The Myall Creek settlement was declared a township in 1854 with the name of Dalby. When Captain Samuel Perry the Deputy Surveyor General asked the locals to suggest a name for the village that was to be surveyed the name of Dalby was suggested the name coming either from the town of that name on the Isle of Man or from a town in Leicestershire.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dalveen” style=”fancy”]Ron needs to update this entry when he gets a chance. He has the info at home.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Darling Downs” style=”fancy”]Sir Ralph Darling after whom Allan Cunningham named this area succeeded Sir Thomas Brisbane as the seventh Governor of the colony of New South Wales 1825-1831. He was born of English parents in Ireland 1775. His father was a sergeant in the British army and he followed in his father’s footsteps by joining the army butÂ rapidly outstripped his father in rank. His reforms in NSW met resistance and led to conflict with W.C.Wentworth and Chief Justice Forbes and other leading colonists so that the Colonial Office in England recalled him but a British parliamentary inquiry later exonerated him. He died in Brighton England 1858[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Darra” style=”fancy”] The naming of the house Darra which used to stand on the corner of Ann and Wickham Streets in Brisbane the home of William Augustine Duncan may provide the clue to the origin of the suburb’s name but in one way or another it probably came from Darra in Scotland north of Aberdeen. The name was chosen by the Railways Department 1876. Some claim it to have Aboriginal origins but this is not clear.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dawson River” style=”fancy”] Flowing northwards as part of the Fitzroy basin most of this river is outside of South East Queensland. Leichhardt named the river in acknowledgement of the support given to his expedition by Robert Dawson of Black River in the Hunter Valley a Yorkshireman who came to Australia (1825) as the first manager of the Australian Agricultural Company and stayed on to become a landowner magistrate and explorer. He died in England about 1866.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dayboro” style=”fancy”] The district used to be called Terror’s Creek. The creek acquired this name from a horse. The horse was a prized grey Arab stallion belonging to Captain Griffin of Whiteside station. Its name was Terah named after the father of Abraham in the Bible. But the spelling got changed some say because the high-spirited horse instilled terror into the local inhabitants. Early on the postal address for the district was Hamilton’s or Hamilton because Hugh Hamilton a farmer who took up land in the area when the big runs were broken up ran the first post office from his house. But eventually another of the early land owners was honoured by having the township named after him. This was William Henry Day born in Bath Somerset England 1828 and arrived in Moreton Bay 1855. He became Clerk of Petty Sessions and later Police Magistrate in Brisbane. But he acquired extensive holdings in the Terror’s Creek district land on which he tried growing sugarcane. When this venture failed however the land was subdivided and the township of Terror’s Creek sprang up. The name was changed by the postal authorities 24 May 1919 to Dayboro. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Day’s Gutter” style=”fancy”] Previously known as Cloherty’s Gutter this boat shelter in Moreton Bay was named according to Joshua Peter Bell after an oysterman fisherman and light keeper who lived in a house near Campbell Point. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Deception Bay” style=”fancy”] The bay got its name from Deception River the name given to Pine River when John Finnegan mistakenly took John Oxley up it thinking it was the big river which later became the Brisbane River.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Deebing Creek” style=”fancy”] The name comes from the Aboriginal word for mosquito or other small winged insect.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Delaney’s Creek” style=”fancy”] (See Wamuran)[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dicky Beach” style=”fancy”] This Caloundra beach was named after the SS Dicky which ran aground there 4 February 1893.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Diddillibah” style=”fancy”] Dhilla means coarse grass and ba means place. Another suggestion is that the name referred to a snake either black or carpet.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dinmore” style=”fancy”] Dinmore was named after Dinmore Hill in Herefordshire England. In the Welsh language Dinmawr means a great hill. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Doboy” style=”fancy”]The creek and surrounding area acquired its Aboriginal name which means mud-crab when it was bestowed by James Turner coastal surveyor. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dogwood Creek” style=”fancy”] This Darling Downs stream was named by Ludwig Leighhardt after the blossoming jascksonia.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dohle’s Rocks” style=”fancy”] Johann and Catherine Dohle migrated from Prussia 1863 and set up a timber business at Breakfast Creek. Much of the timber came from the Pine River area and in 1903 they took up residence on land there purchased from Tom Petrie. In time his sons Henry and Johann Jnr took over the business. They harnessed the power of the wind to drive a saw for cutting timber. They transferred their boat building activities to Dohle’s Rocks as well. Later they went into growing sugarcane pineapples and vegetables together with dairying.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Donnelley’s Castle” style=”fancy”] This rock formation carries the name of Ned Donnelly an early settler in this part of the Granite Belt.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Donnybrook” style=”fancy”] At one time the township was known as Little Caloundra. It appears on some old maps as Toorbul Township. Some say that it got its present name from the brawling that used to go on among the crews of the boats which serviced the Moreton Bay Oyster Company and who used to camp there. Bribie Passage oysters had a reputation for being the finest in the world but the industry was wiped out in 1909 by a worm infestation. The south-eastern suburb of Dublin from which it gets its name was actually named after a saint. Its original name meant the church of St Broc. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Doolandella” style=”fancy”] Originally part of the Durack lands its name is Aboriginal for the geebung tree.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Doomben” style=”fancy”] Doomben is named after a species of tree fern. It was the Aboriginal name for the area presumably because this particular kind of plant grew there in some profusion.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Doonan” style=”fancy”] It is thought that this name given to the area at the northern end of the Sunshine Coast by the Officer in Charge of the Nambour police station in 1900 is derived from an Aboriginal language meaning the leaf of a tree. However it is not a local Abori[su_spoiler title=”Dulacca” style=”fancy”] The name derived from the Aboriginal term for emu tracks or emu nest was first used of William Miles’ Dulacca Station spelt Doolackah.[/su_spoiler][su_spoiler title=”Dulacca” style=”fancy”] The name derived from the Aboriginal term for emu tracks or emu nest was first used of William Miles’ Dulacca Station spelt Doolackah.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dorrington” style=”fancy”] At the request of the Oakleigh and District Progress Association 25 September 1947 the name of the area was changed from Oakleigh to Dorrington after Dorrington Park one of the land portions there which had been subdivided in the 1920s. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Double Island Point” style=”fancy”] Captain Cook so named this point 18 May 1770 because from his ship it looked as though there were two small islands lying just below the land. Later Stuart Russell christened it Brown’s Cape because the runaway convict Bracefield told him that was where Brown the mate on the Sterling Castle had been killed by local tribesmen. (See Frazer Island.) Cook’s designation has been preserved[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Downfall Creek” style=”fancy”] Carl Gerler and Ambrose Hartenstein were taking a dray load of corn from Zion Hill (Nundah) to Nordga ( Burpengary) when the vehicle got bogged while crossing a creek. Gerler went on to get help leaving Hartenstein to guard the corn. However when he heard Aboriginal people approaching he ran off along the creek and hid while the Aboriginals camped about the same distance away on the other side of the dray because they were to frightened to draw closer. When Gerler came back the next day he found Hartenstein still hiding behind a log and from that time the crossing was known as Hartenstein’s Downfall and the creek Downfall Creek.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Drayton” style=”fancy”] The small settlement which grew up at the camping spot where bullockies rested their beasts after the long hard haul up the range was known as The Springs. However when Thomas Alford set up a trading post there in 1842 he named it Drayton after his home town in Somerset. The Aboriginal people called the sport Chinkerry meaning the place where water jumps up or water sparking like stars. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Drillham” style=”fancy”] It is claimed that Drillham is a distortion ofeliri dum a reference to that which people experienced when they had typhoid fever common among families working on the rail line construction beyond Miles in the 1880s. The town was developed as a railway service town in 1878.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dugandan” style=”fancy”] Dugandan near Boonah was the Aboriginal name for the hill on which the original head station was built. It derives from the Aboriginal term for a particular kind of reed that was suitable for making dilly bags and that grew at a spring on the hillside. The MacDonalds in 1841 were the first to take up this Dugandan run[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dulacca” style=”fancy”] The name derived from the Aboriginal term for emu tracks or emu nest was first used of William Miles’ Dulacca Station spelt Doolackah.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dulong” style=”fancy”] The name for this area near Nambour means red mud or clay.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dumeresq River” style=”fancy”] This river was named by Allan Cunningham after Mr Henry Dumaresq Governor Darling’s brother-in-law and private secretary. The Dumaresq family were prominent in New South Wales. Eliza was married to Sir Ralph Darling the Governor. Of her brothers Henry was the eldest. After his time as military secretary to the governor he became a pioneer settler in the Armidale district. William like his elder brother a veteran of the Peninsula and Waterloo campaigns was an engineer who for a short time was colonial treasurer. He retired to his property near Scone. Edward nine years younger than William was put in charge of the Tasmanian Surveyor-General’s Department on his migration to Australia and became a police magistrate.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dundathu” style=”fancy”] This name derived from Aboriginal words meaning place of dead trees applied originally only to the sawmill set up by William Pettigrew and William Sim in the latter 1850s to early 1860s.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dunethin Rock” style=”fancy”] The name has its origin in the Aboriginal Dhu-Yungathin meaning trees swim. and came from the period when James Low had a timber depot there 1867. There was a time when the name was spelt with an ‘m’ – Dunethim but in the 1970s it came to be spelt officially as Dunethin.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dunwich” style=”fancy”] It used to be called Goompee meaning round or spherical then Green Point but Governor Darling decreed that it should be called Dunwich. Viscount Dunwich was another title held by the Earl of Stradbroke the father of Captain Henry John Rous who commanded HMS Rainbow when it brought Governor Darling to Moreton Bay and surveyed parts of the bay. It was used as a stores depot in the early years of the Moreton Bay settlement. To prevent unwanted contact between ships crews and convicts Captain Logan made all ships load or unload their cargo there. It then had to be transferred to Brisbane by boat. It was next used as a quarantine station then as a Benevolent Asylum for the elderly and infirm. This continued until the inmates were transferred to Eventide at Sandgate in 1947. From 1892 to 1907 there was a leprosarium there. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Durack” style=”fancy”] The present suburb of Durack was part of the old Archerfield property hurriedly purchased in 1881 by Michael ‘Stumpy’ Durack and his wife Kate from Mary Elizabeth Murphy just prior to his departure for the Kimberleys where he spent almost all the remainder of his life in the pioneering enterprises of the family. But he lost most of the assets he had accumulated and when he died in 1894 his widow and children were left to face some very difficult and struggling years. The youngest of seven children he had come to Australia from Ireland at the age of seven. At the age of twenty-seven he married his sister’s best friend Catherine McInnes in Goulburn. They lived on Thylungra Station on Cooper’s Creek before moving to Archerfield. He was called Stumpy not only because he was short but to distinguish him from other Michaels in the family. The name Durack has been used for the area only since 1976. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Durandur” style=”fancy”]The name of the old Archer Brothers station set up in the Woodford area means witchetty grub. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Dutton Park” style=”fancy”] The area was named after Charles Boydell Dutton a native-born Australian who acquired extensive property and grazing interests in Queensland and was a member of the Queensland Legislative Assembly from 1883 to 1888 during which time he served successively as Minister for Lands Minister for Mines and Works and Minister for Railways. In spite of his pastoral interests he gained the reputation of being a humanitarian liberal. When he married in 1865 he was 31 years of age and his wife Martha was 17. Before being given this name the area was known at Boggo. The cemetery was known as Dutton’s Park from its inception. [/su_spoiler] [/su_accordion] [/su_tab][su_tab title=”E“] [su_accordion][su_spoiler title=”Eagle Farm” style=”fancy”] When the N.S.W. Governor advised the establishment of an agricultural station away from the Brisbane settlement Captain Logan and Colonial Botanist Fraser selected a tract of land on the north side of the Brisbane River backed by a fine creek. (Serpentine Creek). It comprised undulating ridges of a gentle height with a small watercourse between each one. The soil was a rich brown loam which supported a luxuriant growth of native grasses and was lightly timbered mainly with blue gum. An agricultural establishment was commenced there in 1829 using convict labour. Later it was used as the place for women prisoners. It got its name from the large number of eagles seen in the area. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eagle Junction” style=”fancy”] The railway junction was originally called Eagle Farm Junction but it became shortened to Eagle Junction.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eagleby” style=”fancy”] The area was known as Little Germany or German Pocket because of the large number of German settlers there but it is said that the name Eagleby is a corruption of Eagle be Motchya the answer given by an Aboriginal named Draper when asked what bird had built a nest in a tree near the junction of the Albert and Logan Rivers.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eastern Heights” style=”fancy”] The name obviously indicates the location of a ridge subdivided for suburban allotments in relation to Ipswich town centre.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eatons Hill” style=”fancy”] In 1849 James Cash with his seventeen-year-old wife came to live on a rise overlooking the South Pine River. Their slab house saw many visitors as it was on the main northern track from Brisbane and the Cashes had a reputation for hospitality. It is said that no one was turned away without at least a pot of tea. They held the land as leasehold but after James died the property was forfeit for non-payment of lease charges. That is when John and Jane Eaton acquired the property (1874). The prominent hill on their land came to be known locally as Eaton’s Hill and when subdivision occurred in 1972 the name was formally gazetted for the area. This was not inappropriate for the name Eaton in its English derivation means riverside land. Cash’s name is continued in the area by Cash’s Crossing once a popular picnic spot on the South Pine River. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ebbw Vale” style=”fancy”] The suburban area of Ipswich and the colliery gained their name from Ebbw Vale a town in the South of Wales. During the 19th century coal mining there led to the erection of huge steel works. But with their closure this Welsh town has undergone another transformation to become a university town. Its Welsh name is Glynebwy the valley of the horse river.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ebenezer” style=”fancy”] The school and locality took its name from the Ebenezer Methodist Church there. Ebenezer literally in Hebrew ‘stone of help’ was in the Bible the name of a stone that the prophet Samuel erected to commemorate God’s help in Israel’s victory over the Philistines. Here I’ll raise my Ebenezer was a line in a popular Methodist hymn.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Edens Landing” style=”fancy”] The origin of the name had nothing to do with Adam and Eve nor with any television program but had much to do with Henry Eden who ran a ferry service across the Logan River to the German settlement at Bethania Pocket back in the 1860s. He later made his fortune felling and hauling out cedar from the Northern Rivers area of New South Wales.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eidsvold” style=”fancy”] We are used to seeing English and Scottish names on our maps even Welsh and Irish but a Norwegian place name transplanted to this part of the world is a rarity. Yet in the name of Eidsvold a town which was named after the original station holding we have the reproduction of a Norwegian place name. And the family which lies behind this unusual event is an unusual family that had a considerable affect on the opening up of Queensland to European settlement. This was the Archers. The family were Scottish but transferred the centre of their family activities and business operations to the estate of Tolderodden near Laurvig Norway in 1826. The brothers David and Thomas Archer named their run Eidsvold after the Norwegian village where that nation’s constitution had been passed into law. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eight Mile Plains” style=”fancy”] Cobb and Co. set up a changing station for their horses eight miles along the bush track from the One Mile Swamp (Woolloongabba) and so the settlement that grew up around it became known as Eight Mile Plains from as far back as the 1860s but in 1837 Commandant Cotton in correspondence to the Colonial Secretary made reference to a sheep station at the Eight Mile plain 20 miles by land from Brisbane and 32 up the Brisbane River. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eildon Hill” style=”fancy”] Eildon comes from the name given to three hills near Melrose in Scotland the Roman name of which was Trimontium and a plaque nearby today proclaims, Here once stood the fort of Trimontium built by the troops of Agricola in the first century AD abandoned at least twice by the Romans and ultimately lost by them after fully one hundred years of frontier warfare. An early resident on Eildon Hill was the Congregational minister Rev. George Wight who pioneered Congregationalism in Brisbane and who in semi-retirement erected a chapel on his property in which he conducted services of worship.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ekibin” style=”fancy”] Thomas Stephens gave the name to a swampy area along Logan Road formerly known as Burnett Swamp when he established a felmongery business there in 1862. It has assumed a number of forms : Ekibbon Yeekabin Yekibin but in its Aboriginal origins it meant ‘good eating’ and referred to the good supply of edible roots there. The underground horizontal stems of the Bungwall fern (Blechnum indicum) featured prominently in the diet of the Aboriginal people around Moreton Bay. The stem was dug out with a sharp stick partly dried in the sun roasted and then pounded with a stone. T.B.Stephens had already owned woollen mills in Rochedale England before migrating to Australia. He set up a woolscour and fellmongery near Cleveland before transferring it to the Ekibin site. He later added a tannery. He served as an alderman for South Brisbane was Brisbane’s second Mayor served in the Queensland Parliament for most of the 1860s and 1870s. He was a strong Baptist son of a Baptist minister. Their family home Cumbooquepa is now part of Somerville House college.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Elanora” style=”fancy”] The name is supposed to mean a camp by the sea. Name was given by the Railways Department to the station and hence became the name of this Gold Coast suburb.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Elimbah” style=”fancy”] The area was known to the Kabi people as the place of the grey watersnake Elimbah. The teamsters knew it as The Six Mile a place to camp and rest their horses or bullocks. But when the railway came through 1890 the rail stop was simply known as ’36miles 68chains’. It was officially named Elimbah 20 September 1902 at the urging of local residents. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ellangowan” style=”fancy”] This was the name given to his run by John Thain when he took it up around 1842. His wife’s name was Ellen.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ellen Grove” style=”fancy”] Property developers have the opportunity to suggest names for new subdivisions and Ellen Grove was one of these. It was named in 1952 after the grandmother of the developer R.P.Spinks who as Ellen Dobing had been a long term resident in the area.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ellinthorpe” style=”fancy”] Previously known as Clark Crossing and then Talgai and then Dalrymple Ellinthorpe was chosen by the Railways Department in 1916 it being the Tasmanian home property of Charles George Henry Carr Clark and George John Edwin Clark of Talgai station.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Enoggera” style=”fancy”] It seems that the Aboriginal name Youggera originally referred to the area around the mouth of Breakfast Creek. Europeans applied it to the upper reaches of the stream but in the survey office the u was mistaken for an n so that it became Enoggera. The name was first used of the creek. Then later for the suburb. Some say it was an Aboriginal word meaning plenty of wind although Watson suggests that it is a corruption of yauar-ngari referring to a corrobboree ground. The Aboriginal name for the area which is now Enoggera was booloorchambinn the turpentine tree (Suncarpia procera). [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ernest” style=”fancy”] Southport Junction was re-named Ernest Junction after Ernest Stevens Member of Parliament.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Esk” style=”fancy”] James Ivory and David Graham settled at Eskdale. It seems that the property was named after the Ivory family home in Scotland although there are at least four rivers in Britain with this name. Its Celtic root was a word simply meaning water. They also named Mt Esk which in turn gave its name to Esk Creek. After five years or so in partnership Ivory and Graham separated and Graham took up the Tabragalba run. In 1853 James Ivory was joined by his brother Francis but he left soon afterward to visit his homeland where he married a cousin a marriage that did not prove to be a very happy one. He died in Ipswich in 1887. In 1872 a township was surveyed at a point where the teamsters used to cross the creek. This was officially named Gallanani but the name was not used by the locals who preferred Sandy Creek, Glenrock or Mount Esk. Mount Esk gave way to Esk as the name for the town. In 1881 the Mount Esk post office became the Esk post office; in 1887 the Mount Esk school became the Esk school; and in 1886 the Railways Department named its station on the new line Esk. However it was not until 1913 that the name Esk officially replaced Gallanani.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eskdale” style=”fancy”] The name for this locality within the Esk Shire was given by James Ivory and David Graham when they took up the grazing run 1843. Although it never developed a plan for a town there was drawn up in 1888.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Etonvale” style=”fancy”] The grazing station was named by Arthur Hodgson who squatted there in 1840 together with Gilbert Elliott a former aide-de-camp to Governor Gipps. Hodgson had served in the Royal Navy and studied at Cambridge University but came to Australia in 1839 in time to take part in the land rush to the recently discovered Darling Downs. He later became a leader among the squatters the first magistrate on the Darling Downs and a member of parliament firstly for New South Wales and then for Queensland. After his return to England in 1870 he became mayor of Stratford-Upon-Avon and was knighted. Soon after reaching his grazing run he found a pocket knife in a deserted Aboriginal camp and noticed that the blade was inscribed Rogerson Maker Eton. Since he had been to school at Eton he saw this as an omen. With the consent of my partner we christened our newly-discovered home ‘Eton Vale’.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eudlo” style=”fancy”] This Aboriginal name refers to eels although it probably did not come from the local Aboriginal people.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eukey” style=”fancy”] This name for what was previously known as Paddock Swamp suggested by W. A. Petzler is said to be a Chinese word for dog.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eumundi” style=”fancy”] The first Europeans to settle in the area were Joseph and Eleanor Gridley who arrived out from England on board the James Fernie 24 January 1856 with their five children. The family moved to the district in 1870 and called their property Beniah. The district was known by that name until the railway came through in the early 1890s. It was then that the name Eumundi was chosen. Eumundi or more accurately Ngumundi was an Aboriginal leader described by Stuart Russell as a great fighting man well inclined toward the whites. The Noosa River was at one stage called Huon Mundy’s River a variation on the Eumundi name and a creek in the district still bears this name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Eurong” style=”fancy”] This Fraser Island place name comes from yurong meaning rain or rainforest.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Evergreen” style=”fancy”] The settlement declined after it was by-passed by the railway line out from Oakey but the district retains the name a reminder of Evergreen House once occupied by Stephen Patch and the Hurleys[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Everton Park/Hills” style=”fancy”] Ambrose McDowall named his house after Everton the suburb of Liverpool from which he came. Like other English Evertons this one derived its name from the Old English evfar meaning wild boar and tun meaning a farm or village. From the 1890s the Everton name has been used for the area but Everton Park saw its major development around 1957 at the hands of Willmore and Randall. The name of Everton Hills was officially gazetted 1 August 1972.[/su_spoiler] [/su_accordion] [/su_tab][su_tab title=”F“] [su_accordion][su_spoiler title=”Fairfield” style=”fancy”] George and Samuel Grimes from Leicestershire England came to the Moreton Bay settlement under John Dunmore Lang’s immigration scheme in 1849. These brothers farmed first at Kurilpa and then on a property they called Fairfield. From this farmland there eventually developed the suburb of that name. They grew and milled sugar and grew and marketed arrowroot. In 1885 they bought Hope Island in the Coomera River. Both were prominent Baptist laymen members of the Queensland Legislative Assembly and active in public affairs. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fassifern” style=”fancy”] John Cameron named his run Fassifern after his family’s home in Scotland. An inn opened at the junction of Reynolds and Warrill Creeks in 1845 but the 1856 survey for a town came to nothing. Fassifern has been retained as the name for the district rather than for any township. Fassifern in Scotland or as it is shown on maps today Fassfern was the site for an important battle in Scottish history. This was when Bonnie Prince Charlie tried to rouse support for himself in 1745. It has long been associated with the Camerons. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fernberg” style=”fancy”] Since 1910 Fernberg has been the name of the residence for Queensland Governors. Sir William McGregor was the first governor to live there. But the house is testimony to the hardworking German settlers who did much for the development of South East Queensland. Johann Christian Huessler originally from Frankfurt in Germany arrived in Brisbane at the age of 34 and became a successful merchant and sugar grower. In time he became the German Consul and organized the migration of German farmers to Queensland. He built his house in a forest where it was accessible only by way of a steep track which ran up from Milton. By 1872 he was in financial difficulties and the Bank of New South Wales foreclosed. It was bought first of all by the Cohen brothers Nathan and George and then by John Stevenson a grazier who was a member of the Queensland Parliament. Further interesting information about the Fernberg property is available on the Government House website which carries the manuscript of a talk given by Mr Michael Bryce at a Government House Open Day.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Felton” style=”fancy”] Arthur Hodgson sold part of his run known as Drummer’s Camp or Peel’s Plains (named by Alan Cunningham) to Captain Charles Mallard and it was he who gave it the name of Felton after his birthplace in England.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fernvale” style=”fancy”]The Fernvale name was first used of stores near Stinking Gully in 1870 but the area on the north side of the gully was locally known as Harrisborough after the owners of the land there John and George Harris. With other places being named after the Harris brothers the name of Fernvale was chosen as the official name for the telegraph and post offices and the name of the gully was eventually changed to Ferny Gully. It seems that the prolific growth of ferns in the gully gave the inspiration for these names.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ferny Grove” style=”fancy”] For many years the area was called Ferny Flats. It was the coming of the railway in 1916 or so which brought the Ferny Grove name.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Ferny Hills” style=”fancy”] Ferny was a popular name used by settlers in the 1870s for several places around Cedar Creek and Kedron Brook. Doubtlessly this reflected the presence of a major flora species in the area. The name Ferny Hills was officially gazetted 1 August 1972[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fig Tree Pocket” style=”fancy”] If you thought that Fig Tree Pocket received its name from its being a river pocket upon which there once grew a large number of fig trees you would be right – Moreton Bay fig trees (Ficus macrophylla)[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Finnie” style=”fancy”] John Finnie a local settler has given his name to this area of the Darling Downs.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fisherman Island” style=”fancy”] Those on board the Norfolk with Matthew Flinders saw what they thought was a long war canoe being paddled by Aboriginal warriors and prepared for a confrontation but when they got closer they discovered that the line of men were standing on a water-covered mud flat and their rhythmic beating of the water with sticks was their way of driving fish into a net. With this incident in mind Flinders marked a nearby island on his chart Fisherman Island. Actually the incident took place closer to Green Island. It had been known to the Aboriginal people by the name of Andaccah meaning mullet and John Oxley referred to these islands as the Inner and North Concealment Islands. It is now the location for the Port of Brisbane[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fitzgibbon” style=”fancy”] Abram F. Fitzgibbon was an Irish-born engineer who became Chief Engineer and then the First Commissioner for Railways in Queensland (1863-64). He was the person responsible for the three foot six inch gauge being adopted in this state.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Flaxton” style=”fancy”] The first settler was Joseph Chapman Dixon (1882). He was followed shortly after by Christopher Wyer who built and named his house after Flaxton Hall Farm in the Fen country of England. He became the first mail contractor in the district with the route ending up at his farm so the service was known as the Flaxton service. The name then came to be used of the district.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fletcher” style=”fancy”] Thomas Fletcher is acknowledged to be the first commercial orchardist 1889 in the Ballandean district.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fleurbaix” style=”fancy”] Named by Railways Department after a World War I battle in France 18 July 1916.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Flinders” style=”fancy”] Matthew Flinders came out to Australia with Governor Hunter as a midshipman 1795. With his friend Dr Bass he explored the coastline south of Sydney proving that Van Diemen’s Land was an island. Then at his own suggestion and now a Lieutenant he was sent north to explore Glass House Bay and Hervey’s Bay. One of the features he marked on his chart was a High Peak. Later explorers and settlers referred to that as Flinder’s Peak. He revisited England in 1800 and on the way back chartered the southern coastline of the Australian continent. Between 22 July 1802 and 10 June 1803 he circumnavigated the continent in a dangerously unfit vessel which after years of service as the Xenophon had been renamed the Investigator. He it was who suggested the name Australia for the continent he had sailed around. But it took some time for the name to be adopted because it met with opposition from the influential Sir Joseph Banks in England and because his return to England was inadvertently delayed. He was a passenger on the Porpoise when it was wrecked on the Great Barrier Reef and returned to Sydney in an open boat to mount a rescue operation for the other survivors. The Cumberland which was made available to him was barely seaworthy and by the time they got to Mauritius in the Indian Ocean on their way back to England he had to call in for repairs. Britain and France were at war so as a British naval captain he was interned by the French on Mauritius Island and had to stay there for six and a half years. His health deteriorated and he lived only long enough after he got home to put his manuscript through the press. He actually died on the very day in 1814 that the book was published but he was unconscious and never saw it. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Flinders View” style=”fancy”] Flinders View gets its name from the visibility of Flinder’s Peak from the area.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Forest Hill” style=”fancy”] Many names have come from descriptions of natural features written onto their maps by early explorers. Forest Hill is one of these. It was Alan Cunningham who on his 1829 journey marked a ‘forest hill’ on his chart. This gave rise to the name of the town which later grew up there.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Forestdale” style=”fancy”] Gazetted in June 1987 the name was chosen by the developers for their estate some six years earlier.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fortitude Valley” style=”fancy”] With all the fervor of an evangelist the Rev. Dr. John Dunmore Lang spent 1846 to 1848 recruiting migrants for Moreton Bay. He worked in competition with the official migration scheme but his chartered vessel the Fortitude arrived a month after the Land and Emigration Commissioner’s Artemesia. Although led to believe that they would be given land on arrival Lang’s migrants were denied this. When they came ashore they had nowhere to go and many were almost destitute. They were allowed to form a shanty town out on the slopes of what is now Gregory Terrace and Water Street near the notorious fringe settlement of York’s Hollow close to where the Exhibition Grounds are now. The name Fortitude valley came from that early village of Fortitude migrants. It had before that been known as Bell’s Valley after a serving army officer.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Fraser Island” style=”fancy”] Captain James Fraser who had been wrecked in Torres Strait in 1830 had his vessel the Stirling Castle wrecked on the Great Barrier Reef in 1836. He suffered from a stomach ulcer and nerves so his wife Eliza left her three children in the care of the local minister at Stromness in the Orkneys to sail with her husband. This bossy handsome dark-haired thirty-seven year old woman was on board then when the ship ran aground and broke up. While her husband panicked she although heavily pregnant remained calm and level-headed in the crisis. With the ill-disciplined crew they took to the open boats – a pinnace and a long boat. Mrs Fraser gave birth in the boat but the baby died. They rowed for twenty-eight days the last seven without food or water. One boatload went off on their own. The Frasers came ashore on what is now called after them Fraser Island. They were stripped by the natives the men taken away by the men and Eliza taken away by the women. She was forced to be a wet nurse but was given only scraps of food. She was given the most menial of tasks and suffered badly from insect bites. In the fifth week of her enslavement as she saw her husband trying to drag a heavy log he was speared before her eyes. She was rescued with the help of a runaway convict who was living with the natives. When she arrived in Sydney she was treated as a celebrity and given money to help her through her difficult financial position. But while there she married Captain Alexander John Greene of the Mediterranean Packet. Back in England people were also invited to subscribe funds to help the woman who was supposed to be a destitute widow. It caused a scandal when it was discovered that she had remarried and was not destitute. She migrated with Greene to New Zeala[su_spoiler title=”Galloways Hill” style=”fancy”] The hill was previously known as Norman’s Hill but in 1865 it was named Galloways Hill after the Honourable John James Galloway who had lived there for many years. Born in Devon England 1819 he came to Australia in 1837 and to Moreton Bay in 1855 where he worked as a surveyor. He became a member of the Board of General Education and a Member of the Legislative Council. He never married and returned to England 1875 and died 1883.[/su_spoiler]nd. She died in Melbourne in 1858 said to have been killed in a carriage accident. Among the indigenous Badtjala people the island was called K’Gari after Princess K’gari the spirit who in legend helped make this part of the world and loved it so much that she asked to be allowed to stay there. James Cook thought it was part of the mainland and hence described it as Great Sandy Peninsula but when Captain William Lawreance Edwardson in the Snapper proved that it was an island it became known as Great Sandy Island until its name change in 1842.[/su_spoiler][su_spoiler title=”Freestone” style=”fancy”] In his journal for 7 June 1827 Alan Cunningham made mention of the stream that came to be called Freestone Creek. He says, ‘Camped on the bank of a narrow creek furnishing plenty of water and upon a patch of the finest meadowed pasturage I have seen in NSW.’ However it is not clear whether he named it or not. [/su_spoiler] [/su_accordion] [/su_tab][su_tab title=”G“] [su_accordion][su_spoiler title=”Gailes” style=”fancy”] Many places have been named after houses some after hotels but Gailes is one which was named after a golf course. In 1925 this name was suggested for the new golf links by the wife of the superintendent of what was then known as the Goodna Mental Hospital. She had come from Western Ayrshire in Scotland not far from the Western Gailes Golf Club. Before that the area had been called Dingo Hill.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Galloways Hill” style=”fancy”] The hill was previously known as Norman’s Hill but in 1865 it was named Galloways Hill after the Honourable John James Galloway who had lived there for many years. Born in Devon England 1819 he came to Australia in 1837 and to Moreton Bay in 1855 where he worked as a surveyor. He became a member of the Board of General Education and a Member of the Legislative Council. He never married and returned to England 1875 and died 1883.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gataker’s Bay” style=”fancy”] This part of Hervey Bay was named after Charles Frederick Gataker who was born at Mildenhall Suffock 1843 and came to Australia at the age of 21. He became a government surveyor working in the Mary-Burnett area but later was a local wine and spirit merchant living in Maryborough but with a seaside house at Gataker’s Bay.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gatton” style=”fancy”] Although the name had been in use for some years before that the town of Gatton was officially proclaimed 19 April 1855. It was named either after Gatton by the Melrose River in Scotland or Gatton in Surrey England but which settler gave it the name and why is not known. The new town of Gatton which grew up after the railway came through was on a melon hole flat previously known as The Swamp. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gavan” style=”fancy”] The Gaven family which owned land in the area from 1880 has given its name firstly to the road Gaven Way (1960) and then the suburb (1979). Eric Gaven was shire councillor and chairman and later a member of the Queensland parliament.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gayndah” style=”fancy”] Like many other Queensland towns Gayndah grew up at a river crossing where squatters and teamsters used to camp while on their travels. At one time it was known as Norton’s Camp after a local carrier. Being founded in 1848 it is undoubtedly one of the oldest towns in Queensland but there is some uncertainty about the origin and meaning of its name. The most likely origin is to be found in the Aboriginal giun-¬da or gu-un-dah meaning thunder but another suggestion is ngainta meaning place of scrub. Yet another interpretation says that it means a large rock. The Railway Department adopted the name 27 April 1908. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gaythorne” style=”fancy”] The train station was originally called Rifle Range because it was near the Enoggera army rifle range but the Railways Department changed the name to Gaythorne 14 July 1923 using the name of a nearby property which had been named by its owner Howard Bliss after his wife’s home at Albion.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Geebung” style=”fancy”] The Aboriginal people used to eat the fruit of the geebung shrub by squeezing the pulp and stone from the skin with their fingers and eating it raw. It provided a tasty meal and when they left the fruiting bushes they would carry as much as they could in their dillies with them. Geebung is an Aboriginal word but not from the Brisbane area. The Brisbane folk used to refer to this large well-branched shrub with the bright green foliage that produced small golden flowers in the late summer as dulandella. Its scientific name is Persoonia.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Geham” style=”fancy”] The name of this Darling Downs district is supposed by some to derive from the Aboriginal Jim-ju-um.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gheerulla” style=”fancy”] A contraction of Wakka words kirar nulla referring to a dry creek. The Wakka people were not of this area but from time to time travelled through it on their way to the coast.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gibson Island” style=”fancy”] Gibson an engineer with the Harbours and Marine Department was in charge of the dredging operations in the Brisbane River.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gilldora” style=”fancy”] According to the Queensland Railways the name of this area near Gympie was a combination formed from the name of a local resident Gillman and ‘dorada’ meaning a nice place.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gilston” style=”fancy”] Aboriginal names for the present Gilston area were Boieeboiee (broad-leafed apple tree) or Winwin (white oak) but the white people called it Upper Nerang until the suggestion of Mr Bryant local store owner was accepted and adopted. This was the name of his home town in England.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Girraween” style=”fancy”] An Aboriginal name meaning a place of flowers. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Glasshouse Mountains” style=”fancy”] Lieutenant James Cook did not have in mind the glasshouses under which tomatoes might be grown but glass foundries in Yorkshire. These cone shaped buildings up to thirty metres in height were known as glass houses and the residual cores of extinct volcanoes which he saw from the Endeavour 17 May 1770 reminded him of those buildings in his homeland so he called them the Glass Houses. They then featured prominently in the early white intrusion into the area. Sailors using Cook’s charts looked out for them. Matthew Flinders trudged overland to the base of one of them Tibrogargan and climbed Mt Beerburrum. John Bingle John Oxley Patrick Logan Charles Fraser and Allan Cunningham all used them to get their bearings while on exploratory journeys.Â By the 1880s the Glass Houses were being referred to as the Glasshouse Mountains but their Kabi names of Coonowrin Ngungun Tibberoowuccum Tibrogargan Tunbubudla Coochin and Beewah were linked to local legends. Cook referred to the bay which he saw between Moreton and Bribie Islands as Glasshouse Bay. We now know it simply as part of Moreton Bay. According to Aboriginal legend Tibrogargan was the father and Beerwah the mother. When Tibrogargan saw that the sea was rising he told Coonowrin his eldest to help his mother while he himself gathered up the other children to take them to the high ground to the west. But Coonowrin disobeyed his father and this so anger him that he struck his son a great blow on the neck permanently dislocating it. Coonowrin hence has a crooked neck.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Glasshouse Mountains” style=”fancy”] Lieutenant James Cook did not have in mind the glasshouses under which tomatoes might be grown but glass foundries in Yorkshire. These cone shaped buildings up to thirty metres in height were known as glass houses and the residual cores of extinct volcanoes which he saw from the Endeavour 17 May 1770 reminded him of those buildings in his homeland so he called them the Glass Houses. They then featured prominently in the early white intrusion into the area. Sailors using Cook’s charts looked out for them. Matthew Flinders trudged overland to the base of one of them Tibrogargan and climbed Mt Beerburrum. John Bingle John Oxley Patrick Logan Charles Fraser and Allan Cunningham all used them to get their bearings while on exploratory journeys.Â By the 1880s the Glass Houses were being referred to as the Glasshouse Mountains but their Kabi names of Coonowrin Ngungun Tibberoowuccum Tibrogargan Tunbubudla Coochin and Beewah were linked to local legends. Cook referred to the bay which he saw between Moreton and Bribie Islands as Glasshouse Bay. We now know it simply as part of Moreton Bay. According to Aboriginal legend Tibrogargan was the father and Beerwah the mother. When Tibrogargan saw that the sea was rising he told Coonowrin his eldest to help his mother while he himself gathered up the other children to take them to the high ground to the west. But Coonowrin disobeyed his father and this so anger him that he struck his son a great blow on the neck permanently dislocating it. Coonowrin hence has a crooked neck.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Glastonbury” style=”fancy”] Glastonbury Creek in the Gympie district was the site for a big gold rush in 1887. The name though was first associated with the pastoral lease taken up by William B. Tooth and Co in 1851. It was presumably named after Glastonbury in England.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Glen Aplin” style=”fancy”] This Granite Belt area was named after Dyson Aplin and family who had tin mines in the area from about 1872. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gleneagle” style=”fancy”] Glen Eagles was the name of William Tutin Walker’s cotton growing property in the 1860s but the district came to be known as Gleneagle. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Glengallan” style=”fancy”] The present homestead was built in 1867 but the area was part of the land taken up by Patrick Leslie in 1840 and named Glengallan after a place in the Scottish Highlands by Colin and John Campbell in 1841-42.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Glenlyon” style=”fancy”] The original run was given this Scottish place name by its first leasee according to Jean Harslett and Mervyn Royle (They Came to a Plateau) a man by the name ofÂ Garden who took it up in 1840. Later the dam gained its name from the property.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Glen Niven” style=”fancy”]Glen Niven was named after Lawrence Niven manager of a local tin mine. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Glenrock” style=”fancy”]This locality gained its name from W. Flewell-Smith’s property there. Before being called Glenrock the school was called No.56 being Portion 56 Parish of Windera.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gneering Reef” style=”fancy”] Formerly the Granite City the Gneering was a stern wheel steamer used by the timber merchant William Pettigrew to carry timber from coastal areas to his mill in Brisbane until its grounding in 1892. The name came from an Aboriginal term for the black duck.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goat Island” style=”fancy”] Prior to a Land’s Department mapping error this island was known as Wreck Island. This was seen as a good place on which to run goats as it was free of foxes but this stopped after the goats were drowned in a flood in 1916.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gold Coast” style=”fancy”] In 1949 the centres along the coastal strip from Southport to Coolangatta combined together to form the Town of South Coast and in 1958 adopted the name of Gold Coast. In the following year it was declared a city but prior to this the name had gained popularity in recognition of the prosperity of the area and the rising price of land the golden beaches and the suntanned bodies of their devotees. The name had been borrowed from the West African coastal strip given that nickname by Europeans.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goodger” style=”fancy”] When the railway line was put through to Tarong it passed through James Goodger’s property and the railway station was named after the Goodger family hence the name has been acquired by the surrounding locality. The Goodger family came from the Gawler River district in South Australia in 1900.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goodna” style=”fancy”] The name comes from the Aboriginal name for the area and it meant dung. (Petrie)[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goolman” style=”fancy”] Oxley named it Murdock Peak after Peter Murdock the person in charge of the agricultural establishment at Emu Plains New South Wales but the Aboriginal name gained ascendancy. It meant stone axe and referred specifically to a axe-shaped rocky outcrop there. The Goolman Divisional Board was established 1879. It became a shire in 1905 and changed its name to Boonah Shire 1937.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goombi” style=”fancy”] This district west and south-west of Chinchilla has a name derived from the Aboriginal word for swamp.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goombungee” style=”fancy”] This was the Aboriginal name for the area occupied by the pastoral run named in 1854 by C.W.Pitts who is commemorated today by the name of Pittsworth.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goomburra” style=”fancy”]This run was taken up in the early days of Darling Downs settlement by Ernest Dalrymple. The name comes from Gooneburra fire-black tribe. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goomeri” style=”fancy”] The town had its beginnings with the sale of Boonara Station by the retailing family David Jones of Sydney. Allotments went on sale 6 March 1911 nine years after the railway line had been put through. The train station was initially called Goomeribong. The name is aboriginal and means speared on shield or broken shield.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Goondiwindi” style=”fancy”] The name of the town on the Macintrye River is derived from the name of a station property in the area variously given as Gundawinda or Gundiwindi said to mean either a resting place for birds or droppings of ducks or shags in the original Aboriginal language. Gundiwindi was the spelling of the property name when it was registered in the names of Richard and Samuel Marshall around 1848 hence the pronunciation that continues. The town grew up at a point on the river where three grazing properties met (Callandoon Umbercollie and Old Goondiwindi) and where the teamsters who brought mail and supplies up from Maitland grazed their bullocks while waiting for a return loading of wool.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gore” style=”fancy”] Named after St George Gore owner of Bundumba run and a member of the Queensland parliament. Eldest son of an Anglican clergyman St George Richard Gore was born in Dublin 1812 educated at home by his father until he entered Trinity College Dublin. He practised as a barrister in London until 1839 when he with his brother Ralph Thomas Gore migrated to Australia. He married Frances Caldwell 1840 and in the following year pioneered the Yandilla run. Leaving that station to other members of the family he took up the Bundumba run 1848. After Queensland’s separation from New South Wales he became a member of the first Queensland Parliament He held several positions in the Herbert Macalister and Lilley cabinets. In 1869 he surrendered his lease on Bundumba and established a stud property he called Lyndhurst near Warwick. He died 1871.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gowrie” style=”fancy”] Originally called Stambrook or Stanbrook by the pioneers Henry Hughes and Frederick Isaac the pastoral run was given the name of Gowrie in 1847 said to come from a corruption of the local Aboriginal word for a bivalve mussel shell plentiful in the creek bed there. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Graceville” style=”fancy”] Literally the name means agreeable village but it was named after the daughter of Samuel Grimes the local member of parliament. The Railways Department asked him to suggest a name for the station to be located on the new line through the old Boyland estate and his suggestion of Graceville was prompted by his daughter’s name Grace. Captain Boyland owned two cargo boats the Hawk and the Swallow which plied between Brisbane and Ipswich.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Grandchester” style=”fancy”] Grandchester was originally called Bigges’ Camp after two brothers who settled in the Brisbane Valley in the first great rush for land by free settlers in the 1840s. These were Frederick and Francis Bigge nephews of Commissioner Bigge. Frederick was known as ‘Big’ Bigge and Francis as ‘Little’ Bigge. The first railway line to be built in Queensland ran from Ipswich to Bigges’ Camp. It was opened 31 July 1865. Governor Bowen thought that the terminus of such an historic railway should have a more dignified name so made up a name from grandis meaning great or big and chester meaning camp.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Grange” style=”fancy”] The word grange is used of a moderately sized English country residence so this was the name chosen by T.K.Peake who established a tannery and fellmongery there and built the house which has now long since disappeared.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Granite Belt” style=”fancy”] The name obviously refers to the large number of granite boulders evident in the area. It came into use after the separation of Queensland from New South Wales in 1859. Before that it was simply seen as part of the New England Tableland.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Grantham” style=”fancy”] Grantham run was taken up by George Gershon Mocatta in 1842 and then by C.W.Pitts in 1845. Grantham in England after which it was presumably named is known in historical records as far back at 1086 in the Doomsday Book when it was spelt exactly as it is today[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Green Island” style=”fancy”] There are difference of opinion about the Aboriginal name for this Moreton Bay island. Some say they called it Mil-warpa while others say it was Tanggeera Tangaree or Doongerri. However convicts knew it by its present name as early as 1828.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Greenbank” style=”fancy”] In the 1890s the old Greenbank Station owned by the Slack family was subdivided into farming lots and the Greenbank Provisional School was built on land leased from Will and Catherine (nee Lane) Slack. Greenbank station had previously been owned by his father William Dunbar How Slack. [/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Greenslopes” style=”fancy”] Frederick Wecker born 1827 in Germany and his wife Katherine took up a large area of land on the east side of Logan Road in 1860 and his farm became known locally as ‘Wecker’s green slopes’. He extended his property by buying some undulating land at the rear from a Reginald Jennings and grew lucerne there calling it his ‘green slopes’. He was one of the early trustees of the Balmoral Cemetery opened around 1874. However it was not until 1912 that Greenslopes started being used as a place name. James Toohey’s family sold part of the old Wecker property to a developer and it was marketed under the name of ‘The City View Estate Greenslopes’. Shortly afterward when the tramline was extended it was simply called Greenslopes.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Griffen” style=”fancy”] See Whiteside[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Griffith” style=”fancy”]Griffith University is named after Sir Samuel Griffith Queensland premier and federal attorney-general. As a boy Samuel Walker Griffith came to Australia with his parents when his father became the Congregational minister at Ipswich and later at Maitland and at Wharf Street Brisbane City. He married Julia Janet Thomson1870. He had a distinguished career as a barrister but entered politics and was Queensland Premier 1883-1888 and again 1890-1893. He was Queensland’s chief justice 1893-1903 became an advocate of federation and drew up the first draft of what became the Australian Constitution. He served for 16 years as Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia and died in Brisbane 1920.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Guanaba” style=”fancy”] The creek and district make use of the name of the Aboriginal people who lived where Beenleigh is now situated.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gunchellan Wharf” style=”fancy”] It is thought that this area on the Mary River was named by Charles White after the area from whence he came.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gundiah” style=”fancy”] Several Aboriginal meanings have been given : magic stone doctor or goodbye.[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title=”Gympie” style=”fancy”] Gympie was the Kabi Kabi name for a stinging tree which grew prolifically around the Mary River and the name was given to one of the river’s tributaries Gympie Creek. The mulberry-leaved Dendrocnide moroides has tiny stinging hairs on leaves and narrow stems. Experience has taught bushwalkers to keep well clear yet its fleshy berries are edible. It was along this creek that James Nash discovered gold in 1867. He had been working the Nanango field but there was nothing much more there so he went off on his own prospecting in the Mary River region. This short bearded loner of a man dressed in dirty moleskin trousers flannel shirt and dusty boots turned up at the Maryborough Land Commissioner’s place 16 October and lodged his claim for the reward being offered by the Queensland Government for the discovery of a new payable goldfield. The discovery of gold here saved the young colony from bankruptcy. See Nashville.[/su_spoiler] [/su_accordion] [/su_tab][/su_tabs]
[su_button url=”http://www.piulapublications.com/?page_id=3780″ style=”soft” background=”#8e816f” size=”6″ icon=”icon: hand-o-right”]Place Names H to N[/su_button] [su_button url=”http://www.piulapublications.com/?page_id=3786″ style=”soft” background=”#8e816f” size=”6″ icon=”icon: hand-o-right”]Place Names O to Z[/su_button]